Covering all aspects of physical and human geography, this dictionary is an essential guide to students at all levels. It has been fully revised and updated, and includes more than 400 new entries, recommended web links for many entries, and over 15 new illustrations.
This new dictionary provides over 2000 clear and concise entries on human geography, covering basic terms and concepts as well as biographies, organisations, and major periods and schools. Authoritative and accessible, this is a must-have for every student of human geography, as well as for professionals and interested members of the public.
This book provides full and accurate descriptions of terms commonly used in geographical debates about gender relations. It does not confine itself to short definitions but allows sufficient space to develop an adequate sense of the complexity of the terms covered. Explicitly aimed at geographers, it includes key concepts and theoretical terms with four levels of entry, from approximately 1500 words for the most important terms, to 50 words for the least significant. Also included is a comprehensive bibliography encouraging readers to seek out seminal texts and reach their own conclusions.
Geography as a subject covers a very wide range of topics, and the concepts are constantly being updated and revised. Dictionary if Geography , designed to aid understanding of a sometimes complex field, is an A-Z guide to key geographical terms. Each entry begins with a clear, one-sentence definition and is then developed in line with the relative importance of the concept covered, often through the use of worked examples and illustrations. Entries are carefully cross-referenced.
Human geography focuses on the ways that humans interact with each other and with the environment, illuminating the complex processes and nature of our global society. This book presents the full range of this remarkable field, presenting nearly 300 pertinent models, concepts, theories, and people associated with human geography.
This encyclopaedia presents an unusual interpretation of geography - including physical, anthropographic and cultural aspects of each continent. Each volume focuses on a different continent and the approach is thematic rather than alphabetical. The purpose of the work is to consider geography according to the combination of factors that tie humans to their environment.
Reference work that summarizes climate knowledge including processes that produce our weather, circulation of the atmosphere that produces the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, the history of ideas underlying the atmospheric sciences, biographical accounts of those who have made significant contributions to climatology and meteorology, and particular weather events from extreme tropical cyclones and tornadoes to local winds.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
This Handbook demonstrates the difference that thinking about the world geographically makes. Each section considers how human geography shapes the world, interrogates it, and intervenes in it. It includes a major retrospective and prospective introductory essay, with three substantive sections on: Imagining Human Geographies Practising Human Geographies Living Human Geographies
Via approximately 80 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on geography will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
Provides a defining reference for academics and postgraduate students seeking an advanced understanding of the debates, methodological developments, and methods transforming research in human geography. Builds on and updates previous work in the field by comprehensively situating research in human geography in relation to the discipline's rich history of political and theoretical debates.