Newspapers: Newspapers: United States

The New York Times

"New York Times Logo" accessed from: http://commons.wikimedia.org/

The University Library has access to full-text articles from the New York Times through multiple platforms.

The NYTimes.com subscription gives library users access to the New York Times' official website. The articles are full-text html. They are not digitized versions of the print issue. Full-text articles are available on the day they are published.

The ProQuest Digitized Newspapers (Recent) and ProQuest Historical Newspapers versions of the New York Times offer pdf articles which have been digitized from microfilm. This means that when you read an article, you are seeing a reproduction of the print newspaper itself. This shows you contextual items that surround the article as well, such as photographs and advertisements from that time period. The ProQuest databases also include citation information. However, full-text to articles from the past three months is not available.

NYTimes.com
The online version of the New York Times includes the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print edition, as well as an array of additional still image, video, audio, and data content. Content includes the current online edition, and searchable archive to the papers inception in 1851.
Access Note: Users must register and create a personal account for access through the library's subscription to the New York Times in Education program. Instructions--go to: accessnyt.com; search for and select University of Saskatchewan from the list of educational institutions; click "create account" and complete fields: you must use a valid USASK email address (usask.ca); verify your account through email message--you will receive a confirmation email to complete setup. NOTE: individual registration expires after one year and must be renewed.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The New York Times Recent
A full-text and full-image database of recent newspapers, from Jan 1, 2008 (Vol. CLVII) - present (delayed 3 months), digitized from microfilm. Every "issue of each title includes the complete paper 'cover-to-cover' with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
A full-text and full-image newspaper archive, with content from 1851-2014, digitized from microfilm. The paper is searchable from cover to cover, including images, advertisements, and articles. Each page is available as a downloadable PDF.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Current Newspaper Collections from the United States

"New York Newsstand" by Nick Hennigan is licensed under CC BY 2.0

PressReader
Provides today's newspapers from Canada, the United States, and around the world with the appearance of the print copy. You can translate any of the articles instantly into more than a dozen languages. An app is available for mobile devices and tablets. Formerly PressDisplay.
Access Note: Users who authenticate as a USask Library user on their own device will have access to PressReader on that device anywhere for 6 days, after which they must authenticate again.
Access Note: The Globe and Mail is no longer available to read off-campus.
Access Note: PressReader will no longer provide support for Internet Explorer as of July 31, 2022. It is recommended you switch to the latest version of another browser prior to July 31, 2022.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm
Browse newspapers in a digital format. Users can retrieve, view, print and email digitized images from ProQuest microfilm. Includes the New York Times. Limited coverage.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and full text periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Many articles include images. Updated daily. Searching encompasses several Gale databases including General Reference Center Gold, Business Index ASAP, Expanded Academic ASAP, and LegalTrac.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal Recent
A full-text and full-image database of recent newspapers, from Jan 2, 2008 (Vol. CCLI) - present (delayed 3 months), digitized from microfilm. Every "issue of each title includes the complete paper 'cover-to-cover' with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Historical Newspaper Collections

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
(Formerly known as American Indian Histories and Cultures), Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America has a broad range of manuscripts, artwork, rare books, photographs, Indigenous newspapers from the 1960s to the 1990s, and maps drawn from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library in Chicago. These selected resources document the history of Native North Americans from their first encounters with Europeans through 21st century Indigenous activism and highlight both the myths and realities of Indigenous cultural identity and of the West. Cross searchable with The American West database.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
(Formerly American Indian Newspapers) Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. Representing a large range in style, production, and audience, the 45 unique newspaper titles include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. In addition to English language publishing, the collection contains bilingual and Indigenous language editions, including Cherokee, Lakota, and Chinook.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
Full-text and full-image newspapers with content from 1851-2010, digitized from microfilm. The paper is searchable from cover to cover, including images, advertisements, and articles. Each page is available as a downloadable PDF.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
Full-text and full-image newspapers from 1877-1997, digitized from microfilm. Every "issue of each title includes the complete paper 'cover-to-cover' with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
A full-text and full-image newspaper issues from 1889-1996, digitized from microfilm. Every "issue of each title includes the complete paper 'cover-to-cover' with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Google Newspapers Archives
Coverage and history varies.