GIS library services: GIS and Agriculture

Agriculture & Environment

Agriculture
Environment

Geospatial Products from Ag Canada
Agrimap, Biomass, Canada Land Inventory, Land Cover for Ag, Soil of Canada, and more.
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada - Soil Information Service
This includes Cropheat units, Plant Hardiness Zones as well as the Canadian Land Inventory and the Soil Landscape of Canada
Statistics Canada - Geographic Boundary Files
Boundary files by census year and topic of the census.
more...less...
Choose a year to get to the specific census topics.
Food Environmental Atlas (USDA)
Interactive map which allows users to view store/restaurant proximity, food prices, community characteristics, and a spatial view of a community's ability to access healthy food.
Harmonized World Soil Database v. 1.2
The Land Use Change and Agriculture Program of IIASA and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN have developed a comprehensive Harmonized World Soil Database. Free to download, contains recently collected regional and national updates of soil information
Manitoba Land Initiative
Includes Agri-Maps map viewer for information about agriculture in Manitoba.
The National Map (USGS)
National Map (formerly National Atlas) of the United States.
more...less...
Includes data related to agriculture in the United States.
The National Soil Database (NSDB)
GIS coverage of Ecological Framework, Soil Map of Canada, Agroecological Resource Areas, Soil Landscapes of Canada, and the Canadian Land Inventory.

WorldClim: Global Climate Data
Global climate layers with spatial resolution of 1 square km.
North American Environmental Atlas
Interactive mapping of North America including irrigation, precipitation, land cover, and human influence.
Climate Change Maps (NRCan)
Climate change maps from the Government of Canada.
Climate.gov (NOAA)
U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration climate data portal.
Drought Research Initiative (DRI)
Database of data sources for the study of drought in Western Canada.
National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI)
Database of pollutant release incidents in Canada.
Great Lakes Mapping and GIS
Data regarding biota, boundaries, climate, imagery, elevation, environment, and more - relating to the Great Lakes. Data available in PDF, KML,SHP and GML. Layers are accompanied by metadata.
Prairie Region Invasive Plant Species Inventory
Invasive species online map.

GIS and Agriculture

Geographic Information Systems can aid farmers in managing their land more efficiently. Mobile GIS in the field and scientific analysis of production data are very useful for Agriculture.

Maps can show areas of cropland which require more fertilizer, water, or are suitable for certain crops. Crop specific maps can display the lay of the land for agribusinesses such as fertilizer companies and growers. These are just a few of the uses of GIS in Agriculture.