Info Source is a series of publications containing information about the Government of Canada, its organization and information holdings. It supports the government's policy to explain and promote open and accessible information regarding its activities.
The Community Information Database (CID) is a free internet-based resource developed to provide communities, researchers, and governments with access to consistent and reliable socio-economic and demographic data and information for all communities across Canada.
Government of Canada Web Archive
Note: the Government of Canada web archive is presently not available online. Library and Archives Canada began to harvest the web domain of the Federal Government of Canada starting in December 2005. As resources permit, this harvesting activity will be undertaken on a semi-annual basis. The website data which is harvested is stored in the Government of Canada Web Archive (GC WA). Client access to the content of the GC WA is provided through searching by keyword, by department name, and by URL
Use for finding information on legislation currently before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about individual bills, such as: the text of the bill at various stages; government press releases and backgrounders (for government bills); legislative summaries; important speeches at second reading; votes; links to committee proceedings and coming into force data. Covers the 35th Parliament, 1st Session (1994) to the present.
The Wayback Machine is part of Archive.org, a non-for-profit foundation in the United States of America that has been archiving web pages since 1996. It is a surprisingly robust service that is a lifesaver for locating documents that have vanished from the web. It is not, however, comprehensive. You get what you get.
Simply paste a url into the search box. This will produce a calendar showing which dates that particular web site has been spidered and archived. Choose a likely date and click on the link.