English : Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the English Literature Research Guide

Use it to guide your research in English literature and to connect with our services.
Have questions or need help? Contact Ask Us to use our chat, email, or phone help.

Quick Links

MLA International Bibliography
Search for scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations. Covers international literature, linguistics, and folklore research. Contains some full text. Includes links to titles from JSTOR language and literature collection.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

USearch
Search for items on your topic, many of which are owned or subscribed to by the library. Includes books, journal articles, reviews, and more.
USask Department of English Requirements for Essays
Details how to create in-text citations and works cited for English essays, including for poetry, drama, and works in anthologies.
MLA Citation Style Guide
Assignment Planner
A tool to help you with every step of the research and writing process, including setting realistic timelines.

Best Bets for Literature

MLA International Bibliography
Search for scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations. Covers international literature, linguistics, and folklore research. Contains some full text. Includes links to titles from JSTOR language and literature collection.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
JSTOR
Includes full- text scholarly journal articles on literature topics as well as the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Proquest One Literature
[Replaces LION] Contains multiple reference materials such as author pages, book reviews,and historic literary criticism as well as journal articles, ebooks, primary texts and more.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale Literature
Provides access to biographies, summaries, and overviews. It also contains full text literary works, journal articles, criticism, and reviews.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

USearch
Search for items on your topic, many of which are owned or subscribed to by the library. Includes books, journal articles, reviews, and more.

Cite it! MLA Citation Help

Department of English Requirements for Essays
The USask English Department's guide to MLA Style based on the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook.

MLA Handbook Plus
The go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources is now available online. MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook and will soon host additional material, including other MLA guides and instructor resources.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

MLA Style Center
Provides writing resources directly from the Modern Language Association including: a quick guide to the creation of the Works Cited list; plus sample research papers demonstrating the use of MLA style.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): MLA Style
Offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.