English : Digitized Newspapers and Periodicals

Early Canadian Periodicals Collection within ECO is a collection of over 1,000 magazines, totaling over 65,000 issues and covering a wide range of topics such fiction, poetry, political satire, religion, and health, as well as many men’s, women’s and children’s popular magazines. Accesses Note: Found under "Early Canadiana Collections"

The electronic full-page newspaper archive from June 1844. Coverage includes all the stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from Canada's National Newspaper.

A fully digitized and searchable online archive database of the Toronto Star newspaper since 1894.

A full-text and full-image newspaper archive, with content from 1851-2014, digitized from microfilm. The paper is searchable from cover to cover, including images, advertisements, and articles. Each page is available as a downloadable PDF.

A collection of newspapers and news pamphlets, collected by Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817). This is the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media, and includes over 700 bound volumes of content published mostly in London.

Digitized image collection of newspapers and periodicals, 1685-1815. Topics are wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and coffee house gossip and discussion.

The complete digital edition of The Times (London), from 1785 to 2019, can be searched using advanced search techniques, or browsed by date. Search results include "full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching."

The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals:1800-1900, is a subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 73,000 publications, 68,000 personal names, 6,300 issuing bodies, 2,400 publishing towns, 23,000 title pages, 2,000 subjects. Editor John S. North.

The Sunday Times offers a weekly analysis and commentary on news, theatre, sport and politics in an abundance of detail. Access to all issues from first publication in 1822 - 2006 is included.

Volume 1 through to a "moving wall" embargo period of the last 2 to 5 years that varies by title Fulltext archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as 19th century British pamphlets. A unique e-journal database of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.