LGBTQ2+ Health: Accessing LGBTQ2+ Health Research

LGBTQ2+ Search Terminology and Filters

Identifying Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Search Terminology: A Systematic Review of Health Systematic Reviews
Lee JGL, Ylioja T, Lackey M (2016) Identifying Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Search Terminology: A Systematic Review of Health Systematic Reviews. PLOS ONE 11(5): e0156210. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0156210
LGBT Search Hedge for OVID MEDLINE [PDF]
Research Projects
From Re:Searching for LGTQ2S+ Health
PubMed Search for LGBTQ+ Reviews and Trans Health Research
Click to view the search strategy. Copy and paste this search string into your PubMed search box. From Nova Scotia Health Authority: Library Services

Best Databases

PubMed
Index and abstract database covering the fields of "medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. ..[It] also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources."

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. However, the University of Saskatchewan site requires authentication for the convenience of faculty and student access to full text link out. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
Major bibliographic database for clinical medicine, including: internal medicine, general medicine, primary care, family medicine, and general practice, as well as: veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and pre-clinical sciences.
Access Note: Internet Explorer versions 8, 9, and 10 will not be supported after December 31, 2018.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
APA PsycInfo
Bibliographic database "providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences."

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network for the Saskatchewan Information Resources Program (SHIRP). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
A comprehensive database providing full text for more than 760 journals (450 only available in full-text through CINAHL) and abstracts and indexing for over 3000 journals covering nursing & allied health topics.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network for the Saskatchewan Information Resources Program (SHIRP). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technolgy, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Additional Databases

Alternative Press Index & Alternative Press Index Archive
Provides access to bibliographic information about emerging theories of radical social change. Coverage is international, and focuses on socialism and revolution.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Independent Voices is a work in progress. This collection currently contains 14,097 issues comprising 433,204 pages.

Reveal Digital has provided open access to this resource through Center for Research Libraries.

SocArXiv
Open Access collection of preprint research papers in the social sciences. Content is indexed, creating a searchable, browsable archive of preprints uploaded by researchers. Contributors are encouraged to cite their work and include links to their research projects