Languages: Find Arabic Resources

Keeping technical terminology to a minimum, this comprehensive handbook provides a detailed yet accessible overview of Arabic wherein its phonology, morphology and syntax can be readily accessed. Accompanied by extensive examples, it will prove an invaluable practical guide for supporting students' textbooks, classroom work or self-study, and a useful resource for scholars and professionals.

This book explores speakers' intentions, and the structural and pragmatic resources they employ, in spoken Arabic - which is different in many essential respects from literary Arabic. Based on new empirical findings from across the Arabic world this book elucidates the many ways in which context and the goals and intentions of the speaker inform and constrain linguistic structure in spoken Arabic.

In light of recent generative minimalism, and comparative parametric theory of language variation, the book investigates key features and parameters of Arabic grammar. Part I addresses morpho-syntactic and semantic interfaces in temporality, aspectuality, and actionality, including the Past/Perfect/Perfective ambiguity akin to the very synthetic temporal morphology, collocating time adverb construal, and interpretability of verbal Number as pluractional. Part II is dedicated to nominal architecture, the behaviour of bare nouns as true indefinites, the count/mass dichotomy (re-examined in light of general, collective, and singulative DP properties), the mirror image ordering of serialized adjectives, and N-to-D Move in synthetic possession, proper names, and individuated vocatives. Part III examines the role of CP in time and space anchoring, double access reading (in a DAR language such as Arabic), sequence of tense (SOT), silent pronominal categories in consistent null subject languages (including referential and generic pro), and the interpretability of inflection. Semantic and formal parameters are set out, within a mixed macro/micro-parametric model of language variation. The book is of particular interest to students, researchers, and teachers of Arabic, Semitic, comparative, typological, or general linguistics.

These user-friendly Arabic flash cards continue to develop the language skills of beginning Arabic students and others interested in learning Arabic. Volume 1 has a strong focus on basic communication and vocabulary-building--the first 50 cards are divided into three main sections: sounds & orthography, basic communicative words, and key communicative expressions; the rest of the cards build on the most common verbs and related derivatives in the basic communicative patterns to extend the vocabulary base of the learner. Contains 448 flash cards plus a 32-page index booklet. Learn 448 main words plus 2,240 related words and phrases--2,240 basic vocabulary items. Arabic script, romanized forms and English meanings are given for all items. A sample sentence in Arabic with its English translation shows how the main word is used.

"Arabic in a Flash: Volume 2" is an excellent language learning resource for beginning-intermediate students of Arabic. Hot on the success of Volume 1, "Arabic in a Flash Volume 2" continues to develop the language skills of the beginning students and others interested in learning Arabic. While Volume 1 has a strong focus on basic communication and vocabulary-building, Volume 2 works to further develop vocabulary and introduces everyday activities, travel and leisure and economic and employment issues.Contains 448 flash cards plus a 48-page index booklet.Learn 448 main words plus 1,792 related words and phrases--2,240 basic vocabulary items.Arabic script, romanized forms and English meanings given for all items.A sample sentence in Arabic with its English translation shows how the main word is used.

Colloquial Arabic (Levantine) is an easy to use course for beginners. Specially written by experienced teachers for self-study or class use, the course offers you a step-by-step approach to written and spoken Arabic (Levantine). No previous knowledge of the language is required. What makes Colloquial Arabic your best choice in personal language learning? interactive - lots of dialogues and exercises for regular practice clear - concise grammar notes practical - useful vocabulary and pronunciation guide complete - including answer key and special reference section By the end of this rewarding course you will be able to communicate confidently and effectively in a broad range of situations.

A unique course in spoken Arabic for beginners helps you to practice reading, writing and speaking in just one month. The introduction of useful phrases and structures along with a communicative approach will enable all language learners to acquire the necessary skills.

Split into a Handbook and a Reader section, the book provides a historical introduction to Ottoman literacy, translation studies, vernacularisation processes, language policy and linguistic pluralism. The second part contains excerpts from more than forty sources, edited and translated by a diverse network of scholars. The material presented includes a large number of yet unedited texts, such as Christian Arabic letters from the Prize Paper collections, mercantile correspondence and notebooks found in the Library of Gotha, and Garshuni texts from archives of Syriac patriarchs.