German Studies: Find Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The Compact Oxford German Dictionary offers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary German and English. Also includes German cultural and grammar supplements to help you improve your German.

This book covers an array of literary analysis and achievement, from Old High German lays and ecclesiastical encomia to Middle High German epics, sagas, and love lyrics.

The Historical Dictionary of Postwar German Literature is devoted to modern literature produced in the German language, whether from Germany, Austria, Switzerland or writers using German in other countries. This volume covers an extensive period of time, beginning in 1945 at what was called 'zero hour' for German literature and proceeds into the 21st century, concluding in 2008. This is done through a list of acronyms and abbreviations, a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on writers.

Each entry offers a concise identification of the term, a discussion of its significance, and a bibliography of works for further reading. critical/theoretical approaches.

For students looking for a quick nuts-and-bolts overview, with an emphasis on clarity and brevity. , Graphic elements such as sidebars, reader-alert icons, and boxed highlights stress selected points from the text, illuminate keys to learning, and give students quick pointers to the essentials.

The Modern German Grammar Workbook, Second Edition, is ideal for all learners who have a basic knowledge of German, including students at schools, in adult education and within higher education. It can be used independently or alongside the second edition of the Modern German Grammar.

This intensive foundation course in German is designed for students with no previous knowledge of the language. Offering an original and distinctive approach to language learning, the course presents German within its cultural context and encourages both practical language skills and enhanced communicative strategies.