Languages: Find Latin Resources
Latin Resources
Oxford Latin Dictionary by The Oxford Latin Dictionary is the world's most authoritative dictionary of classical Latin, with comprehensive coverage of the language from its beginnings until AD 200. More than fifty years in the making, and originally published in a series of fascicles (parts) from 1968, it was finally published as a single volume in 1982.
Latin Grammar by In Latin Grammar, Dirk Panhuis explains linguistic concepts clearly, thoroughly describing the mechanics of the sentence and its parts. In addition to discussing syntactic and semantic structures, and appropriate grammatical terminology and definitions, Panhuis also illustrates the grammar throughout with text by Latin authors.
English Grammar for Students of Latin, 3rd Edition by A self-study handbook for English speakers learning Latin introducing them to English grammar and pointing out the similarities and differences with Latin grammar.
Essential Latin by With a modern, user-friendly approach, the author presents a comprehensive survey of the language, life, history and customs of a culture that continues to influence our own. Through a variety of authentic texts, the student is guided through the mechanics of Latin, whilst gaining an insight into the glory that was Rome, its power struggles and the eventual fall of the empire. The writings of Virgil, Cicero, Juvenal and many others appear in the original Latin with accompanying translations.
- Reading Latin: Text and VocabularyReading Latin is a bestselling Latin course designed to help mature beginners read classical Latin fluently and intelligently. It does this in three ways: it encourages the reading of continuous texts from the start; it offers generous help with translation at every stage; and it integrates the learning of classical Latin with an appreciation of the influence of the Latin language upon English and European culture from antiquity to the present.
- Reading Latin: Grammar and ExercisesReading Latin is a bestselling Latin course designed to help mature beginners read classical Latin fluently and intelligently. It does this in three ways: it encourages the reading of continuous texts from the start; it offers generous help with translation at every stage; and it integrates the learning of classical Latin with an appreciation of the influence of the Latin language upon English and European culture from antiquity to the present.
- Library of Latin Texts: Series A and BThe Library of Latin Texts (LLT) is the world’s leading database for Latin texts. It gathers Latin texts of all genres and all periods. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
Practice! Practice! by Exhibiting the same clarity as Latin via Ovid, this student workbook parallels the text's forty lessons and is the ideal supplement to classroom recitation and exercises.
Reading Latin by Reading Latin, first published in 1986, is a bestselling Latin course designed to help mature beginners read classical Latin fluently and intelligently. It does this in three ways: it encourages the reading of continuous texts from the start; it offers generous help with translation at every stage; and it integrates the learning of classical Latin with an appreciation of the influence of the Latin language upon English and European culture from antiquity to the present. The Text and Vocabulary, richly illustrated, consists at the start of carefully graded adaptations from original classical Latin texts.
An Independent Study Guide to Reading Latin by Publication Date: 2018-05-10Reading Latin, first published in 1986, is a bestselling Latin course designed to help mature beginners read classical Latin fluently and intelligently. It does this by combining the understanding of continuous texts with rigorous teaching of grammar; it provides exercises designed to develop the skills of accurate translation; and it integrates the learning of classical Latin with an appreciation of the influence of the Latin language upon English and European culture from antiquity to the present. The Independent Study Guide is intended to help students who are learning Latin on their own or with only limited access to a teacher.
Introduction to Latin Prose Composition by The ten chapters deal with the following topics: how to convey every possible message in a simple sentence; how to connect independent sentences in order to create a text; how to communicate complex messages using subordination; how to express relations within a clause; what word-order to use; what vocabulary to choose. It provides everything one needs to know in order to write in Latin. The last two chapters propose practical exercises of reworking ancient texts and creating one's own.
- Greek and Latin Roots Part I - Latin (Open Education Resource)Greek and Latin Roots: Part I - Latin is part one of a two part series. This series examines the systematic principles by which a large portion of English vocabulary has evolved from Latin and (to a lesser degree) from Greek. This book focuses on Latin roots. A link to the second part focusing on the Greek roots can be found below. The text assumes no previous knowledge of Latin, and does not involve the grammatical study of this language—except for a few basic features of noun and verb formation that will help students to understand the Latin legacy in English.
Image
Inscription for 5th century Roman Consul Decius Marius Venantius Basilius in the Colosseum in Rome. CIL VI 1716 c, VI 32094 c.. Source: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/b/b7/Rome_Colosseum_inscription_2.jpg
