Maps at the University Library: Saskatchewan rural municipality maps

Maps of Saskatchewan's 296 rural municipalities include information on land tenure, including ownership of particular parcels of land.

RM maps are the most commonly-used maps at the library. Members of the public are welcome to come and look at our maps, but please note that they are for in-library use only.

All maps of Saskatchewan rural municipalities are housed on the 2nd floor of the Murray Library.

RM maps are catalogued individually, meaning maps for a specific municipality can be identified by searching for the RM number or the RM name.

The simplest approach to finding a particular map is to use a word search in the Library Catalogue as that will work with a broad range of search terms.

The example above illustrates a search for the R.M. of Big River. Other terms or keywords like rm 555, or rm big river, or Rural Municipality of Big River will produce the same search result. 

The USearch tool on the library's main page is also useful for finding maps; and employs the same sort of search terms as in the catalogue search example. 

RM numbers and names can be found by looking at the index map located on top of the map case, or by using the online Saskatchewan Municipal Directory.

• Saskatchewan Municipal Directory

  RM numbers can be found in the Saskatchewan Municipal Directory, a government of Saskatchewan site.

• The Township System

  An explanation of Saskatchewan's Land Survey System to help with understanding how land in Saskatchewan is measured, and how to read RM maps.

Scanning

The library is able to scan portions of any RM map, but due to licensing restrictions cannot copy entire maps. For assistance with scanning, contact the Library Services desk on the ground floor or the Research Help desk on the first floor of the Murray Library.

More than one-third of Saskatchewan's RMs have maps available online. Check this list to see if the RM you're interested in has an online map 

Electronic copies of RM maps are also available for a fee to users of the iHunter app.

Although the collection includes a few items dating from the late 1960s and early 1970s, the majority of our RM maps span the period from the 1980s to the 2010s. Anyone interested in historic RM maps should contact the provincial archives in Regina.

• Provincial Archives of Saskatchewan

  Contact the provincial archives to access older RM maps, local improvement district maps, township plans, or Cummins maps

• Cummins Maps - western Saskatchewan

  A digitized copy of the 1922 edition covering the western half of Saskatchewan

• Cummins Maps - eastern Saskatchewan

  A digitized copy of the 1922 edition covering the eastern part of Saskatchewan.

All the maps in the Murray Library are located on the second floor (south wing). From the main stairs or the elevators, go into the room on the left (201), and head to the back of the room.

Murray Library floor plans (requires login)