Philosophy: Find Books

Books

Search the University of Saskatchewan Library Catalogue to find books in print and also links to online books. Also describes journals, magazines and newspapers with some links to articles.

The Library Catalogue does not offer individual journal articles within the catalogue. It is necessary to find the journal and then look for an article on a journal website or in a collection.

Global Books in Print (BIP) with Reviews
An authoritative and comprehensive reference resource offering complete bibliographic information on titles in print available from markets worldwide.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
OCLC FirstSearch (Worldcat)
The world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

E-Book Collections

The University Library has a wide range of e-book collections. Most of our e-books are listed in our Catalogue and therefore can be searched like other books. To limit a Catalogue search to e-books, choose "Electronic Resources" from the pull-down menu beside the Go button.

Listed below are a selection of e-book collections with relevant content to Philosophy.

Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)
Scholarly books in the core areas of: Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB): American Council of Learned Societies
collection of scholarly electronic books covering most humanities disciplines, recommended and reviewed by humanities scholars.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
A full text collection of English printed works for the period 1475-1700 listed in the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing Short Title Catalogues, also known as STC I and STC II, as well as in the Thomason Tracts. Titles are included in the Library Catalogue.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
eBook Central
A platform hosting a growing multidisciplinary collection of electronic books from a range of publishers. This resource used to be ebrary.
Access Note: To access added functionality, you must self-register (free) and sign-in.
Access Note: To download a book, Adobe Digital Editions software is required. To read off-line, download the Bluefire app for iOS or Android.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
A collection of over 5283 literature and scholarly electronic books covering a broad range of subjects, plus over 3450 public domain titles classic works of "fiction, speeches, government reports, and other electronic texts.
Access Note: Most EBSCOhost e-books can be checked out and downloaded for the check-out period (check-out periods vary by title) to your personal computer or mobile device. You must create an EBSCOhost account and have Adobe Digital Commons on your device to download (borrow) e-books.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
HathiTrust
The HathiTrust collection is comprised of over 17 million volumes in hundreds of languages. The titles are digitized versions of print books and serials from the collections of over 50 academic and research libraries around the world. The collection covers a wide range of disciplines – including Languages and Literature, Social Sciences, Sciences, and Arts – in hundreds of languages (51% of the collection is in English, with large numbers of volumes in French, German, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian) and includes 1.3 million US federal government documents. Access Note: Click on the yellow Log In button and select University of Saskatchewan as your Partner Institution.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Copyright varies for works in HathiTrust. Consult the terms of use on the HathiTrust site for guidance. Images, even in public domain works, may be subject to copyright. Permission should be obtained from the copyright holder prior to the use of images. Include “courtesy of HathiTrust” to your citation for images of works

ECHO Cultural Heritage Online
The ECHO initiative builds representations of cultural heritage using scholarly metadata and includes historical sources on philosophy.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO I & II)
Digital image collection covering "every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas." Collection is based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
Lists over 480,000 items published between 1473 and 1800 mainly in English and published British Isles and North America from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries

InteLex PAST MASTERS
Series of full text humanities databases or collections of definitive scholarly editions, in both the original language and in English translation, of the full corpora of seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences, including their published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A collection of bibliographic databases, electronic journals and directories pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes links to available full text.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Kant Research Group
The Kant Research Group at Western is a community of scholars with primary research interests in the philosophy of Immanuel Kant (1724-1804). It maintains an archive of digitized German texts from the 18th century, including Kant's books, and women intellectuals of 18th century Germany.

Loeb Classical Library
Loeb Classical Library is a virtual library of Greek and Latin literature.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
MEMSO: Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online
A collection of medieval and early modern books and manuscript sources digitized from print essential to the study of medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland. It includes linked searchable books and original manuscript images.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Springer Nature Link: Books
A collection of electronic books, reference works, and book series, covering primarily science, technology, and medicine and related topics, but also the arts and humanities, and social sciences. Access Note: to access titles the University of Saskatchewan Library has purchased access to, uncheck the box beside "Include Preview-Only content" at the top of the left menu column.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
A collection of eBooks from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment, and Law. Includes eBooks formerly hosted on CRCnetBASE including select years of AGRICULTUREnetBASE (through 2013), COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE (through 2012), FOODnetBASE (current), VETnetBASE (through 2013), and WATERnetBASE (through 2011 & 2013).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Searching the library effectively

Materials on Philosophy can be found in the USask Library using these subject headings: