Philosophy: Find Primary documents

Primary Resources: Philosophy

InteLex PAST MASTERS
Series of full text humanities databases or collections of definitive scholarly editions, in both the original language and in English translation, of the full corpora of seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences, including their published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence. Much of the content is licensed from Oxford University Press, with significant collections from other major scholarly publishers including Harvard University Press, Indiana University Press and Pickering & Chatto.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
A full text collection of English printed works for the period 1475-1700 listed in the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing Short Title Catalogues, also known as STC I and STC II, as well as in the Thomason Tracts. Titles are included in the Library Catalogue. The University of Saskatchewan Library is a member of the EEBO Text Creation Partnership [EEBO-TCP] coordinated by the Universities of Michigan and Oxford, an initiative creating searchable, full text versions of 25,000 EEBO titles accessible through both the EEBO and EEBO-TCP interfaces. Illustrations are are accessible as separate documents.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO I & II)
Digital image collection covering "every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas." Collection is based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Proquest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature is a much more comprehensive offering compared to LiOn and is approximately double the size. While LiOn forms the foundation, compared to Literature Online the new ProQuest One Literature doubles the number of overall citations, has 3x the number of journals, adds 20,000 sources of historic literary criticism, adds over 20,000 eBooks, 5 adds over 14,000 dissertations, adds 1,300 videos, adds roughly 10,000 reference materials, and adds 150,000 primary texts representing diversity in authors and geographies (Black Writing, World Literature, African Writers Series).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
A full text collection of English printed works for the period 1475-1700 listed in the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing Short Title Catalogues, also known as STC I and STC II, as well as in the Thomason Tracts. Titles are included in the Library Catalogue. The University of Saskatchewan Library is a member of the EEBO Text Creation Partnership [EEBO-TCP] coordinated by the Universities of Michigan and Oxford, an initiative creating searchable, full text versions of 25,000 EEBO titles accessible through both the EEBO and EEBO-TCP interfaces. Illustrations are are accessible as separate documents.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Montaigne Project
Facsimile and text editions of Montaigne's Essais.
Philosource
Seven collections including Pre-Socratic, Socratic, Nietzsche, Wittgenstein and "the early modern age".
Project Gutenberg - Philosophy (Bookshelf)
Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks.
Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome.
Some Texts from Early Modern Philosophy
On this site you will find versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.
English Philosophical Texts Online
A free online library of early modern English-language philosophical texts.
Hume Texts Online
Hume Texts Online is a free and open access collection of works by the great Enlightenment thinker, David Hume, together with bibliographies and links to Hume scholarship on the web.

Primary sources

Primary sources of information are original materials that often convey new ideas, discoveries, or information. These sources originate from the time period under study. Examples of primary sources include:

original research studies (often in the form of journal articles in peer-reviewed publications), also called empirical studies (e.g. psychology)
patents, technical reports
original documents such as diaries, letters, emails, manuscripts, lab data/notes
newspaper articles from the time period under study
autobiographies, first-person accounts, case studies
artifacts and archival material such as official documents, minutes recorded by government agencies and organizations, photographs, coins, fossils, natural specimens
works of art such as literature, music, architecture, or painting

TIP: What is considered primary, secondary, or tertiary information may vary according to your field of study. When in doubt, ask your professor.