Philosophy: Find Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

This book covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. With clear and concise definitions, it provides lively and accessible coverage of not only Western philosophical traditions, but also themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic and Jewish philosophy. It also contains: over 400 biographies of influential philosophers; in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts; and a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day.

The Dictionary of Philosophy spans 2500 years of philosophical thought, and offers an invaluable reference to the student of philosophy and the general reader alike." "It has extensive coverage of modern as well as historical fields, encompassing personalities, terminology and vocabulary, extends from the classical thinkers, through Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza and Kant to Russell, Wittgenstein, Husserl, Baudrillard and Derrida, entries by leading figures in their field on environmental ethics, the philosophy of economics, externalism, feminism, the concept of God, practical reason and virtue ethics, among many others.

The Dictionary of World Philosophy covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy. Providing an extremely comprehensive resource and an essential point of reference in a complex and expanding field of study the Dictionary covers all major subfields of the discipline.

This book is written by an international team of 436 contributors. Includes the most comprehensive entries on major philosophers, 400 new entries including over 50 on preeminent contemporary philosophers, extensive coverage of rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, more entries on non-Western philosophy than any comparable volume, and increased coverage of Continental philosophy.