Philosophy: Home
Key Resources
Find articles
- Philosopher's Index with Full TextA bibliographic database with author-written abstracts of articles in scholarly journals, covering all areas of philosophy.
- PhilPapersAn index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Includes content in journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Find background information to help shape and define your research
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by This encyclopedia has a truly global perspective. It contains more than 2,100 entries -- including more than 450 new articles. Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy"In a dynamic reference work, each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public."
New in the library
- How Socrates became Socrates : a study of Plato's Phaedo, Parmenides, and SymposiumThis link opens in a new windowApr 4, 2025Lampert, Laurence, 1941- author.. B317 .L357 2021. Murray Library.
- Words and worlds : new directions in the philosophy of languageThis link opens in a new windowApr 4, 2025B840 .W67 2024. Murray Library.
- Freedom as non-constraint : beyond non-interference and non-dominationThis link opens in a new windowApr 3, 2025Rainbolt, George W., author.. B824.4 .R35 2024. Murray Library.
- America : the troubled continent of thoughtThis link opens in a new windowApr 3, 2025Ronell, Avital, author. https://id.oclc.org/worldcat/entity/E39PBJfGXp663YhmvTgrg9G4MP. B935 .R66 2024. Murray Library.
- Beyond marginality : constructing a self in the twilight of Western cultureThis link opens in a new windowApr 3, 2025Muller, René J., author. https://id.oclc.org/worldcat/entity/E39PCjyjWbRWJG7qj9RFHFFyJP. BD438.5 .M85 2024. Murray Library.
- Foucault and the history of philosophical transcendence : freedom, nature and agencyThis link opens in a new windowApr 3, 2025Falzon, Christopher, 1957- author. https://id.oclc.org/worldcat/entity/E39PBJB4fHHYYbgt4c636c8pyd. B2430 .F724F35 2024. Murray Library.
- Return to reflexivityThis link opens in a new windowApr 3, 2025Bourdieu, Pierre, 1930-2002, author.. B105 .R27B6813 2025. Murray Library.
- The essence of Chinese humanistic cultureThis link opens in a new windowApr 2, 2025Zhang, Qizhi, author. https://id.oclc.org/worldcat/entity/E39PCjrYhGGMcJ4G4c6mVjxFcd. B127 .H8Z43 2024. Murray Library.
Recomend a Purchase
- Request a PurchaseUse this online form to suggest items for purchase.
Philosophy Librarian
Kathy Gaynor
She/Her
Contact:
Room 122.12, Murray Library
3 Campus Dr.
Saskatoon, SK S7N 5A4
3 Campus Dr.
Saskatoon, SK S7N 5A4
306-966-4459