Spanish & Latin American Studies: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Spanish & Latin American Studies guide. Use this guide to get oriented to Library resources and services, find information, or get help with your research questions.

As the Liaison Librarian for Spanish & Latin American Studies, I can provide a wide range of library services to students and faculty, including library instruction, research assistance / consultations, selecting print and online resources, promoting information literacy, developing instructional support, etc.

Need help with something else? Please feel welcome to contact me and I will do my best to assist you.

Key Resources

Finding articles

Hapi Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
An authoritative source for worldwide information about Latin American issues, including analyses of current political, economic, and social issues, as well as coverage of arts and letters. Includes some full text.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Find background information to help shape and define your research

Gran Enciclopedia Iberoamericana
A comprehensive encyclopedia in Spanish covering the past and present of Spanish and Spanish culture in Spain and in the world, especially in Latin America. It includes articles, images, maps and flags as well as videos and biographies. It includes Dictionary of la Real Academia Espanola and access to la Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal. The following reference works are included: Historia Universal, Historia del Siglo XX, Geografia Universal, Enciclopedia Tematica, Culturas y civilizaciones, Museos del Mundo, Clasicos de la Literatura espanola.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures
Over 4,000 extensive entries that look at all aspects of Latin American culture - food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture.