Spanish & Latin American Studies: Find Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean culturesOver 4,000 extensive entries that look at all aspects of Latin American culture - food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture.
- Gran Enciclopedia Iberoamericana
A comprehensive encyclopedia in Spanish covering the past and present of Spanish and Spanish culture in Spain and in the world, especially in Latin America. It includes articles, images, maps and flags as well as videos and biographies. It includes Dictionary of la Real Academia Espanola and access to la Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal. The following reference works are included: Historia Universal, Historia del Siglo XX, Geografia Universal, Enciclopedia Tematica, Culturas y civilizaciones, Museos del Mundo, Clasicos de la Literatura espanola.
- Gran Enciclopedia de Espana (GEE)
A comprehensive encyclopedia in Spanish, covering Spanish culture & history in Spain and Latin America and includes bibliographic citations as well as images and videos and the Dictionary of la Real Academia Espanola.
Historical Dictionary of Ancient South America by This book contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and the culture of ancient South America.
Iberia and the Americas : culture, politics, and history : a multidisciplinary encyclopedia by This Ebook features five introductory essays and a chronology of key events, this three-volume encyclopedia covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by The online Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica. It includes articles on art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region.
Spain and Portugal : a Reference Guide from the Renaissance to the Present by This online work contains a concise narrative history, a chronology, and an A-to-Z encyclopedia covering significant people, places, events, and issues in Spanish and Portuguese history.
World Literature in Spanish: an Encyclopedia [3 Volumes] by World Literature in Spanish: An Encyclopedia contains roughly 850 entries on both major and minor authors, themes, genres, and topics of Spanish literature from the Middle Ages to the present day, affording an amazingly comprehensive reference collection in a single work. Underrepresented writings--such as texts by women writers, queer and Afro-Hispanic texts, children's literature, and works on relevant but less studied topics such as sports and nationalism--also appear.
Historical Dictionary of SpainISBN: 0810862670The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Spain (online) is an unrivalled reference guide to Spanish history and politics from the Middle Ages to the present. With its chronology, introductory essay, and over seven hundred dictionary entries on major Spanish organizations, including political parties, trade unions, and state bodies; the various regions and languages which comprise Spain, including Catalonia and the Basque Country; and major figures in Spanish culture and the arts.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature by This reference looks at the literature of Spain from the perspective of women's studies. Though the volume focuses on the literature of Spain written in Castilian, it also includes survey entries on the present state of women's literature in Catalan, Galician, and Basque. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries for numerous topics related to Spanish literature, including literary periods and genres, significant characters and character types, major authors and works, and various specialized topics.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean by From geology and biology to cinema and the theatre, this ambitious thematic encyclopedia, unique in scope and style, provides a much needed one-volume account of all aspects of Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
The "accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You'll still find these in the OED, but you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books."
HarperCollins Spanish DictionaryA reliable, in-depth, one-volume Spanish-English dictionary for home, school, or office use.
Diccionario de la Lengua Espanola by Esta nueva edicion del Diccionario de la lengua espanola contiene:88 431 articulos190 581 acepciones18 749 acepciones con una o mas marcas de America o Filipinas 35 685 remisiones.
Other Language Resources
¡exacto! by ¡Exacto!is online a student-friendly Spanish grammar aimed at intermediate-level learners and idea both for use in the classroom and as an invaluable reference for self-study.
A new reference grammar of modern Spanish by This online book brings you up-to-date with contemporary spoken Spanish .
Nueva Gramatica de la Lengua Española by ISBN: 9788467032079La primera vez que una gramática académica refleja todas las variedades del español. Un mapa de la unidad y variedad del español, una obra práctica que, uniendo tradición y modernidad, fija la norma para todos los hispanohablantes.
Schaum's Easy Outline of Spanish by For students looking for a quick nuts-and-bolts overview, this series is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly focused version with an emphasis on clarity and brevity. Graphic elements such as sidebars, reader-alert icons, and boxed highlights stress selected points from the text, illuminate keys to learning, and give students quick pointers to the essentials.
Spanish: an Essential Grammar by The book sets out the complexities of Spanish in short, readable sections, and explanations are clear and free from jargon. The Grammar is the ideal reference source for the learner and user of Spanish.
 Costa Rica |
 Cuba |