Chemistry: Chemical Safety
Reference Resources on Hazardous Substances
Free online reference resources:
- Chemical Safety Library (CSL)A free resource providing crowd-sourced data content containing hazardous reactions that can be used to alert scientists to potential dangerous experiments. Mantained by CAS and the Pistoia Alliance.
- International Chemical Safety Cards (ICSCs)ICSCs provide concise and standardized health and safety information on chemicals. The ICSC project is a joint undertaking between the World Health Organization (WHO) and the International Labour Office (ILO).
Books in the library collection:
Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens by
Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens, Seventh Edition, has proven to be a reliable, accessible, must-have reference on hazardous materials for over thirty years. This updated and revised seventh edition is the most comprehensive listing of the hazardous chemicals commonly used, transported, and regulated in industry and the workplace. Information is the most vital resource anyone can have when dealing with potential hazardous substance accidents, spillages, fires, or acts of terror. It is also essential for the safe day-to-day operation of chemical processes and environmental protection. Sittig's Handbook provides extensive data for over 2,200 chemicals in a uniform format, enabling fast and accurate decisions in any situation. The chemicals are presented alphabetically and classified as a carcinogen, hazardous substance, hazardous waste, or toxic pollutant. This new edition contains expanded and reviewed information for each chemical listed (including chemicals classified as WMD) and has been updated to keep pace with world events, standards, and regulations. This seventh edition includes over 100 new records, and every single record has been checked and updated as necessary. Enables readers to quickly and reliably find the chemical they are looking for, with a full range of synonyms for each chemical, including trade names and CAS index Features relevant data for the US and EU included throughout, along with the essential chemical hazard information applicable worldwide Provides a trusted source of information for first-line responders (emergency services), industry, logistics companies, scientists, and environmental protection organizations Contains expanded information for each chemical listed (including chemicals classified as WMD) and has been updated to keep pace with world events, standards, and regulations
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780323389693Publication Date: 2017-06-05
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials by
Since its inception in the early 1950s, this book has become the number one resource for those who need to evaluate the hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its eleventh edition, it contains extensive data on approximately 26,000 substances, including 2000 new entries. The three-volume set now includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDHL) levels for approximately 1000 chemicals, proving essential for designing adequate ventilation systems and selection of respiratory protection. Other highlights include: A special appendix containing information of nerve gases and biological agents that might appear in the workplace as a result of terrorist activity It is the only reference that combines, for so many substances, data on toxicological, fire, reactivity, explosive potential, and regulatory information Regulatory data covers exposure level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation Sax′s Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, Eleventh Edition provides an essential, up-to-date resource for professionals in industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policymaking.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 0471476625Publication Date: 2004-10-12
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference by
Offers a "safety profile" of 5000 of the most important hazardous chemicals. Features unique Chemical Safety Profiles that provide a quick overview of the hazards, synonyms, and physical properties of a variety of chemicals. Details government agency standards and recommendations on the handling of each chemical. Includes three cross-indices to permit rapid location of a material by its Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) number, a synonym for the material, or the DOT Guide Number. Features new chemical entries unavailable in previous versions.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780470334454Publication Date: 2008-07-23
Cross-Reference Index of Hazardous Chemicals, Synonyms, and CAS Registry Numbers by Call Number: T55.3 .H3C76 1990ISBN: 0397530218Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Destruction of Hazardous Chemicals in the Laboratory by
The book describes practical procedures for the destruction of hazardous chemicals and biological agents in the laboratory in which they are used. The book is a continuation and expansion of "Destruction of Hazardous Chemicals in the Laboratory." It follows the same general approach as the first and second editions but includes a number of new chapters including one on using advanced oxidation techniques as a general means of degrading chemicals. All the monographs from the second edition are incorporated in this volume and are revised and extended as necessary. A number of new monographs describing procedures for the destruction of hazardous chemicals have also been added. The destruction of many pharmaceuticals is also described in this book. This subject has become of increasing importance with recent reports of the detection of pharmaceuticals in the water supply. Finally a new addition is the chapter "General Methods for the Destruction of Hazardous Chemicals in the Laboratory." This chapter describes recent advanced oxidation methods that should be generally applicable to all organic compounds. The methods use commonly available laboratory equipment and reagents.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781118146606Publication Date: 2012-07-09
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals. Primary and more specialized sources are easily traced, and this new edition includes available record updates, also adding a number of new records. In this newly updated and expanded edition, the content is presented in a clear and user-friendly format. Includes new pure compound/class of compounds records and updates on all existing records Presents a worldwide unique reference work on chemical reactive hazards Lists important hazardous reactions and includes references to real chemical incidents Provides guidelines on the safe use and handling of chemicals In the lab and industry
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780081010594Publication Date: 2017-03-18
Laboratory Safety
Safety in the Chemical Laboratory and Industry by
Safety in the Chemical Laboratory and Industry: A Practical Guide provides an authoritative reference on chemical safety procedures and the handling and disposal of chemicals at both the laboratory and industrial level. The book serves as a practical guide for laboratory workers and offers prudent guidelines for the development of regulatory policy for academic and non-academic organizations. The book stresses that all accidental injuries can be minimized if systems and attitudes are in place to prevent them and that to fully materialize a safety culture, even with improved technology, everyone should be mindful of maintaining a safe environment. This handbook will assist faculty, researchers, staff and students to provide a safe and healthy laboratory environment to teach, learn and conduct research. Helps understand the basic principles of chemical safety Provides guidance how to create a culture of chemical safety and how to deal with hazardous waste disposal Handles minimization of risks related to chemicals
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780323951821Publication Date: 2023-07-11
Safety in Academic Chemistry Laboratories by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780841237322Publication Date: 2017-01-01Online PDF guide published by the American Chemical Society.
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety by
Expanded and updated, The CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition provides information on planning and building a facility, developing an organization infrastructure, planning for emergencies and contingencies, choosing the correct equipment, developing operational plans, and meeting regulatory requirements. Still the essential reference tool, the New Edition helps you organize your safety efforts to adhere to the latest regulations and use the newest technology. Thoroughly revised, the CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition includes new OSHA laboratory safety standards, the 1994 NRC radiation safety standards, guidelines for X-ray use in hospitals, enforcement of standards for dealing with blood-borne pathogens, OSHA actions covering hazardous waste operations and emergency response, and the latest CDC guidelines for research with microbial hazards. Every word on every page has been scrutinized, and literally hundreds of changes have been made to bring the material up to date. See what's new in the New Edition New figures and tables illustrating the new material Internet references in addition to journal articles Changes in the Clean Air Act regarding incineration of hospital, medical, and infectious waste Obsolete articles removed and replaced - over one hundred pages of new material New information on respiratory protection guidelines
Call Number: QD51 .C73 2000 (Science Library Reference)ISBN: 0849325234Publication Date: 2000-04-12
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students by
Provides knowledge and models of good practice needed by students to work safely in the laboratory as they progress through four years of undergraduate laboratory work Aligns with the revised safety instruction requirements from the ACS Committee on Professional Training 2015 "Guidelines and Evaluation Procedures for Bachelor's Degree Programs" Provides a systematic approach to incorporating safety and health into the chemistry curriculum Topics are divided into layers of progressively more advanced and appropriate safety issues so that some topics are covered 2-3 times, at increasing levels of depth Develops a strong safety ethic by continuous reinforcement of safety; to recognize, assess, and manage laboratory hazards; and to plan for response to laboratory emergencies Covers a thorough exposure to chemical health and safety so that students will have the proper education and training when they enter the workforce or graduate school
Call Number: QD51 .H55 2016 (Science Library)ISBN: 9781119027669Publication Date: 2016-05-02
Prudent Practices in the Laboratory by
Updates and combines two publications, Prudent Practices for Handling Hazardous Chemicals in Laboratories (1981) and Prudent Practices for Disposal of Chemicals from Laboratories (1983). Explore the current culture of laboratory safety and provides an updated guide to federal regulations. Organized
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780309052290Publication Date: 2011
Safe Use of Chemicals by
Occupational workers frequently use, store, and dispose of toxic chemicals without knowing the possible consequences, both for the workplace and the environment. Improper use or misuse of chemical substances can result in health disorders, fatalities, or chemical disasters. Safe Use of Chemicals: A Practical Guide presents quick and comprehensive instruction to those who work with potentially dangerous substances and provides them with the information they need to avoid the hazards associated with handling these chemicals. Extensive Information on Numerous Substances Thoroughly referenced from a wide variety of sources, this book contains information on industrial solvents, pesticides, metals, air pollutants, toxic gases and drugs, as well as other substances. The information presented for each chemical substance is concise yet thorough and does not require advanced training to comprehend. For each chemical, the author provides the CAS number, IUPAC name, molecular formula, synonyms, uses and exposures, toxicity and health effects, exposure limits, and methods of proper storage and disposal. Tables and appendices are included where appropriate. T.S.S. Dikshith is a member of the World Health Organization (WHO) Task Group on Environmental Health Criteria Documents and the International Program on Chemical Safety and has worked in several laboratories in the United States, France, Germany, and Canada. By following the guidelines established in this text, those who work with chemical substances are able to minimize the risk of disaster and protect themselves and others from the toxic effects of the substances they deal with on a daily basis.
Call Number: TP149 .D545 2009ISBN: 9781420080513Publication Date: 2008-08-21
MSDS Resources
(Material) Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) Resources
Lab Safety Videos
- Laboratory Safety VideosFrom the University of California