Chemistry: Properties
Online Handbooks of Properties
Many of these titles are also available in print.
Search the library catalogue by title to see if we have a print copy.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsProvides basic data on unit conversion, physical constants, compounds, properties, symbols & terminology, mathematical tables, practical laboratory data and much, much more. Updated annually.
- CHEMnetBASEA collection of CRC Press reference works covering chemistry and related topics.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by
The Go-To Reference for Chemists for More Than 70 Years - Completely Updated to Include Today's Essential Topics Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition is written to provide a reliable one-stop source of factual information for today's working chemist. Within its pages, you will find an unmatched compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings that span every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated Seventeenth Edition are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. The Seventeenth Edition is enhanced by the addition of an all-new section on Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources. This timely new content includes descriptions of coal, crude oil, natural gas, tar sand and tar sand bitumen, oil shale, biomass and biofuels, and minerals. Sections include: - Inorganic Chemistry - Organic Chemistry - Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources - Spectroscopy (available online at www.mhprofessional.com/Langes) - General Information and Conversion Tables (available online at www.mhprofessional.com/Langes) If you prefer the convenience of one authoritative resource, rather than a multitude of scattered and diverse references, Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition belongs on your desk.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781259586101Publication Date: 2016
- Merck Index"The Merck Index Online is a searchable full-text database containing over 11,500 monographs providing authoritative and reliable information on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals."
More Comprehensive Property Information
International Tables for Crystallography
This is the interactive version of the International Tables for Crystallography, and the definitive resource and reference work for crystallography:
We also have the print versions in the Science Library reference collection:
International Tables for Crystallography by
International Tables for Crystallography is the definitive resource and reference work for crystallography and structural science. Each of the eight volumes in the series contains articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal-structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. The data are accompanied by discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching. Volume A treats crystallographic symmetry in direct or physical space. It contains extensive tabulations and illustrations of the 17 plane groups, the 230 space groups and the 32 crystallographic point groups. Parts 1-5 of the volume present introductory material, including lists of symbols and terms, a guide to the use of the space-group tables, and the determination of space groups. Later parts discuss aspects of symmetry theory, such as crystal lattices and normalizers of space groups. Thoroughly updated and improved, the latest edition of Volume A includes an additional chapter on further properties of lattices.
Call Number: QD908 .I.56 2002 [Science Library Reference]ISBN: 0792365909Publication Date: 2005
ThermoDex Finding Aid
Looking for hard-to-find or obscure property information? ThermoDex may be able to help suggest a source!
ThermoDex is a "finding aid" designed to save you time in searching through numerous handbooks you might have in your library or lab. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and it returns a list of handbooks that might contain these data. The actual data are not reproduced in ThermoDex.
Important: The University of Texas (Austin) created this finding aid. Please check the USask library catalogue to see if we have a copy of the handbook you need!
Online Resources for Properties
These are some great free resources on the internet for chemical property information:
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a collection of compound data from across the web. Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC).
Chemical Identifiers
Substances often have a variety of names/synonyms and formulae. The most accurate ways to search are by structure, or the CAS Registry Number of the substance. Try these tools to look up the CAS RN of the substance, structure, and other synonyms to search by.
Online Periodic Tables
Chemical Terminology
This is a link to the interactive version of IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology, informally known as the Gold Book:
Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry ("The Blue Book")
Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry by Call Number: QD291 .N644 2014ISBN: 9780854041824Publication Date: 2013-12-17
Also freely available online:
- Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry. IUPAC Recommendations and Preferred Names 2013The pdf of the whole book is available as well as pdfs of each chapter.