Chemistry: Find Journal Articles

Search for Articles in Databases

The University Library subscribes to many article indexing databases in all disciplines. The following are those which are most useful in finding articles on chemical topics. For a complete list of all databases provided by the library, visit the A-Z List of electronic resources.

(Note: Databases index thousands of journals, the library does not subscribe to every title that the database indexes - click on the FindIt button beside each article to check if we have access).

Best Databases for Chemistry:

IMPORTANT: You must register for a personal account with SciFinder before you can access. The link below will take you to an intermediary page where you can find the registration information. The email you register with must be your USask email.

SciFinderⁿ
SciFinderⁿ provides access to the world’s most comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information. A global network of expert scientists curate and aggregate the world’s scientific patent and journal content daily and make it fully discoverable through the advanced technology contained in SciFinderⁿ. This ensures researchers have the most current and accurate substance, reaction, reference and commercial sourcing information available to quickly and confidently inform your critical research activities
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

SciFinder-n Training Materials

Reaxys
Provides "deep indexing" of core chemistry journals. Focuses on experimentally validated/measured substance/reaction data.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Reaxys YouTube Tutorials

Best Multidisciplinary Databases for Sciences:

Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Other Relevant Databases:

PubMed
Index and abstract database covering the fields of "medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. ..[It] also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources."
Access Note: As of July 2021, in order to access your personal MyNCBI account for saved search strategies, etc. you must authenticate via third-party Multi-Factor-Authentication. Please use the link below to choose which third-party option is best for you.
https://ncbiinsights.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/my-ncbi-login-transition-tips/#choosing. If you just wish to search PubMed for locating resources then no further login is required.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.
Compendex and Engineering Index Backfile
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Selected Journal Collections

A few of the journal collections, relevant to chemistry, that the library subscribes to:

ACS Web Editions & ACS Journal Archives
Collection of magazines and peer-reviewed electronic journals published by ACS Publications (American Chemical Society).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals & Archive
Electronic journal collection of over 40 titles published by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), including archives going back to 1841.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Annual Reviews & Backfile
A collection of review series in focused disciplines within Biomedical and Physical Sciences, and Economics.
Access Note: To receive Table of Contents automatically, you must first self-register and setup a username and password in a personal profile.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a portal to scholarly journals, book series, and ebooks published by Elsevier and affiliated publishers primarily covering science, technology, and medicine and the social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users (at fixed computer terminals in the library), for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Do we subscribe to the journal you need?

To search by journal title:

change the first drop-down box to "Title"
change the second drop-down box to "All Journal Titles"
enter the full journal title in the search box
Hit the green search button.

**This search will bring up all print and electronic journal titles. If we don't subscribe to the title you need, you can request a copy of the article needed through Interlibrary Loan (it's free!).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a good place to do a quick and general search of the literature in an unfamiliar area. It is also a useful tool to look up full citations of known articles.

Notices will appear on the right of the search results with links to the UofS FindIt and FullText. For instructions for enabling FindIt, click here.

Google Scholar Search Tips

Journal Title Abbreviations

CASSI
(Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index) Use this tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907.

Other Useful Journal Abbreviation Tools:

Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations
Alphabetical list of journal abbreviations for the sciences. Maintained by Kevin Lindstrom at UBC Library.

Off-Campus Proxy Bookmarklet

To connect to any website through the USask proxy, install the USask proxy bookmarklet in your browser for quick access.

For most browsers, click, drag and drop the blue button below to your bookmarks bar.

USask Proxy Bookmarklet

Bookmarks/Favourites bar instructions for:

That's it! Now, when you hit a paywall while researching online simply click on the USask Proxy link in your bookmarks bar and the page will automatically reload to give you access to the full-text version if the library subscribes to it. You will be prompted to login with your NSID and password if you are not already logged in.

Below is a video tutorial of setting up the Proxy Bookmarklet:

Journal Info

Journal Citation Reports
Comprehensive resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals and more than 3,300 publishers in 80 countries. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Ulrichsweb.com: Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
An authoritative knowledgebase of information about more than 300,000 serials of all types from around the world from academic and scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, open access journals, online publications, newspapers and other resources. Bibliographic records provide details including ISSN and title, publisher, online availability, language, subject area, abstracting & indexing coverage, searchable tables of contents, and full-text reviews.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.