Women's & Gender Studies: Special Collections & Archival Resources
Special Collections & Archival Resources
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and CultureThe Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
- The ArQuivesThe ArQuives (formerly known as the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives) has a mandate " to acquire, preserve, organize, and give public access to information and materials in any medium, by and about LGBT people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada." The ArQuives also maintains non-archival collections, which include a research library, international subject files, and an international collection of queer periodicals.
- USask Library and Archival Resources: Sexual and Gender DiversityA guide to the resources available in the University Archives and Special Collections on Gender and Sexual Diversity, including the Neil Richards collection, which includes the records of many gay and lesbian individuals and organizations, magazines and newsletters published in LGBT communities, collections of lesbian and gay pulp literature, documentation about theatrical cross-dressing, and novels and nonfiction published before the Stonewall Riots of 1969 and the birth of the modern Gay Rights movement.
- Atria - Institute on Gender Equality and Women's History"Atria is an information center and archive where the history and cultural heritage of women, their organizations and their movements are collected, preserved and made available for study." This institute results from the merger of "Aletta, Institute for Women’s History" and "E-Quality, Information Centre for Gender, Family and Diversity Issues".
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries: 1500 to 1950A collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence, bringing "the personal experiences of nearly 500 women to researchers, students, and general readers."
- Defining Gender, 1450-1910A collection of original documents relating to Gender Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. It has five thematic sections: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, The Body. Contains material from the John Johnson collection of ephemera, from boy's public schools and female women's colleges, diaries, periodicals, commonplace books, novels, ballads, pamphlets, poetry, etc.
- Herstory: An ExhibitionThe Herstory web site, a University of Saskatchewan digital collection, samples the pages of Herstory: The Canadian Women's Calendar from 1974 to 1995.
- The Lesbian Herstory Archives"Collects and preserves any materials that are relevant to the lives and experiences of Lesbians: books, magazine, journals, news clippings (from establishment, Feminist or lesbian media), bibliographies, photos, historical information, tapes, films, diaries, oral histories, poetry and prose, biographies, autobiographies, posters, graphics and other memorabilia."
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950A collection of over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries of women writing in North America.
- ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives"ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers."
- ORLANDO: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present"Includes biographical and writing career entries on over a thousand writers, more than eight hundred and fifty of them British women. It also includes selected non-British or international women writers, and British and ... thirty thousand dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts)."
- Women and Social Movements: in the United States, 1600-2000A collection of documents, images, and links to other websites, covering the history of women in social movements in the United States.
- Women Writers OnlineA full-text collection of early womens writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.
