Skip to main content

BibTex and LaTex: Cite References in LaTex

How to Cite References in LaTex

Insert the command below to where you want to cite in your LaTex document:

    \cite{BibTexKey}

If you want to create a bibliography of all references, use this command:

    \nocite{*}

How to Create Bibliography in LaTex

The following two commands are used to create bibliography/reference list:

\bibliographystyle{StyleType}

\bibliography{BibTexFileName}

The built-in bibliography styles in LaTex include:

  • plain: references listed in alphabetical order and labeled numerically
  • unsrt: same as plain except references appear in order of citation
  • alpha: same as plain except labeled by entry
  • abbrv: same as plain except use abbreviations for first names and journal names
  • acm: ACM style
  • ieeetr: IEEE style

 

How to Typeset a LaTex Document

Once you finish writing and citing in Latex, you need to run the following four commands to generate PDF file with bibliography:

  • PDFLaTex
  • BibTex
  • PDFLaTex
  • PDFLaTex

Watch the video on the right to find out how to cite, create bibliography, and typeset LaTex file in TexStudio.

A Sample LaTex File with Citations

In this simple LaTex document, five BibTex entries are cited. The bibliography style used is "plain", and the BibTex entries are from the database "Mybibtex".

\documentclass{article}

\begin{document}

\title{About JabRef}
\author{Author Name}

\maketitle

JabRef is an open source reference management software for BibTex \cite{BESIIICollaboration2014}. It has graphic interface, which makes it easy to use \cite{Apalkov2013,Libby2014}. This is why we choose it as our preferred reference management software for BibTex\cite{Silveira2014}. We will explain the features in details in this section \cite{Uematsu2015}.

\bibliographystyle{plain}
\bibliography{Mybibtex}

\end{document}

Change Bibliography Style in LaTex

Sometimes, you need to change your bibliography styles in LaTex. This can be completed by changing the style name in the command:

\bibliographystyle{AnotherStyleType}

The video below gives more details on how to change a bibliography style in LaTex. Click the Full Screen button to enlarge the video.

Video: How to Typeset LaTex Document

This video shows you how to cite, create bibliography, and typeset LaTex file in TexStudio. Click the Full Screen button to enlarge the video.