Market Research: Companies / Competitors

Finding Company Information

The size and the ownership of a company can affect the availability of company information. There is information about large companies in many places - e.g. McDonalds can be found in such collections as the Mint Global database, in market research reports, or in articles, etc.

Locate the company's website. Locate competitors' websites. Recommendation: Review all news announcements on websites.

Locate industry / city / neighborhood company lists - most companies want to advertise their existence. These lists are often the place to find various small businesses that would be competitors.

Canadian Newsstream: Major Dailies might have articles about small companies. For example, in Saskatoon, the StarPhoenix newspaper might have an article about a small business.

Company Collections

Orbis
Global coverage of more than 60 m companies with descriptive and financial information, basic and expert search functionality, a global standard report format, and analysis modules.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Business Source Elite
A full text database of business publications dating back to 1985. Features company profiles from Datamonitor. Updated daily. Also searches Regional Business News, which provides full text coverage for regional business publications from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Company News

Passport (GMID)
Market research collection has reports on large consumer companies - eg. McDonalds, Nike, etc.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
IBISWorld
Reports will mention key companies in an industry. Note for some industries which are often small businesses there is often no large companies and therefore there isn't any list of industry participants.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Business collection includes articles from journals, magazines and newspapers (Wall Street Journal); business/economics dissertations, country profiles, Business Monitor and First Research market research reports etc. The Economist articles (text only) are here.

Formerly ABI/INFORM Complete.

Access Note: Browse option features market research/country report series.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Business Source Elite
A full text database of business publications dating back to 1985. Features company profiles from Datamonitor. Updated daily. Also searches Regional Business News, which provides full text coverage for regional business publications from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Canadian Newsstream: Major Dailies
Major Canadian dailies, news sources, and newspapers from across Canada. Formerly Canadian Newsstand.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.