Ukrainian and Slavic Studies: Find Articles, Databases, News Sources & More

Journal Articles & More

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Gale Literature Criticism (GLC)
A compilation of literary commentary, including scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals, from four selected collections covering a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Gale Literature Resource Center (GLRC)
Includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical articles on "literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more." LRC is built on Thomson Gale's three hallmark author databases: Contemporary Authors Online (CA), Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (CLCS), and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (DLC).

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Comprehensive full text database of the literature covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in America: History & Life with Full Text) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. HA provides selective indexing of historical articles and access to the full text of modern journals and books.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
MLA International Bibliography
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), covering international literature, linguistics and folklore research. Coverage is international and includes indexing and links to titles from JSTOR language and literature collection.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Proquest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature is a much more comprehensive offering compared to LiOn and is approximately double the size. While LiOn forms the foundation, compared to Literature Online the new ProQuest One Literature doubles the number of overall citations, has 3x the number of journals, adds 20,000 sources of historic literary criticism, adds over 20,000 eBooks, 5 adds over 14,000 dissertations, adds 1,300 videos, adds roughly 10,000 reference materials, and adds 150,000 primary texts representing diversity in authors and geographies (Black Writing, World Literature, African Writers Series).

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Historical Periodicals

JSTOR
Fulltext archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as 19th century British pamphlets. A unique e-journal database of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Current issues of the e-journal may be available direct from the publisher or through another e-journal aggregator such as Project MUSE. JSTOR and Project MUSE have enabled reciprocal linking for titles held in common so that users may access both current and archive holdings.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
An archive of over 750 historically respected journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering over 200 years of content. Each issue is digitized cover to cover, showing the content on each page.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network for its Digital Content Infrastructure Project. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. AAccess is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Licensed News Sources

The Current Digest of the Russian Press

Factiva

License Information: Access is restricted to three (3) simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Facts on File: World News Digest

License Information There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Gale General OneFile

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
PressReader

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Russian Central Newspapers: Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to patrons of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Ukraine General Newswire

Current Print Newspapers

New Pathway-Ukrainian News
Text in Ukrainian and English
Svoboda
Text in Ukrainian
The Ukrainian Weekly
Text in English

Location: Murray Library current journals display shelves, 1^st floor

Open Access News Sources

Other Databases of Note

Alternative Press Index & Alternative Press Index Archive

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Gale Academic OneFile Select (GAOFS)

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Political Science Complete (PSC)

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.