Ukrainian and Slavic Studies: Find Books
Search the Library Catalogue
Other Book Collections
- ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB): American Council of Learned SocietiesAn American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) collection of scholarly electronic books covering most humanities disciplines, recommended and reviewed by humanities scholars. Formerly known as the ACLS History e-Book Project. Topic and regional coverage is very broad.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineFull text collection of over 260 volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series, published since 1960 by the Cambridge University Press. All the available volumes are grouped into 15 different academic subjects: American history, British history, general history, history of science, history of the book, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, political and social theory, regional history, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, and warfare. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
- FEB-web: The Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature & FolkloreCreated by the Gorky Institute of World Literature and the Informregistr Center at the Russian Ministry for Communications, this is a repository of Russian verbal art and the scholarly and other texts vital to understanding it.
- HathiTrust
The HathiTrust collection is comprised of over 17 million volumes in hundreds of languages. The titles are digitized versions of print books and serials from the collections of over 50 academic and research libraries around the world. The collection covers a wide range of disciplines – including Languages and Literature, Social Sciences, Sciences, and Arts – in hundreds of languages (51% of the collection is in English, with large numbers of volumes in French, German, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian) and includes 1.3 million US federal government documents. Access Note: Click on the yellow Log In button and select University of Saskatchewan as your Partner Institution.
- Oxford Scholarship Online NewsfeedInformation about new publications on the OSO platform
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an open access model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
OAPEN ebooks are also available via this entry.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL)Access primary resources through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) from CRL's collection for research and teaching in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The Center makes available more than four million publications, archives and collections to its member libraries to supplement their own humanities, social science and science holdings. "CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Most materials acquired are from outside the United States, and many are from five emerging regions of the world: Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Latin America." Access Note: CRL resources may be borrowed through ILL by University of Saskatchewan students, faculty and staff. The loan period is unlimited, but is subject to possible recall notice. Also includes selected electronic full text.
- EuropeanaMulti-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
- Internet ArchiveA non-profit US-based digital library with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge,” it provides open access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, software, music, videos, images, and public-domain books.
- OCLC FirstSearch (Worldcat)WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. Open Access Content is new feature of the database, allowing for enhanced visibility and discoverability of open content.
- Hanson History CollectionRussian history and humanities monograph based collection—1016 titles, with 510 in Russian language
Searching the library effectively
Materials on Ukrainian and Slavic topics can be found in the USask Library using these suggested subject headings:
- Ukraine Historyto be more specific, add the name of the century after the word 'history'. For example, Ukraine History 19th century
- Ukraine World Warto be more specific about which World War, add the dates after the word 'war'. For example, Ukraine World War 1914-1918
Emperor Nicholas I's Visit to the Public Library, painted by Stefan de Ladveze, 1853.