Although English-language histories of Ukraine have been published since the 1930s, there has been no one-volume compendium of articles covering Ukrainian history from ancient times to the present, emphasizing the modern period. This dictionary introduces Ukraine to the reader through 700 entries on population, geography, economy, politics, and culture; descriptions of institutions, cultural monuments, political parties, battles and wars; and biographical sketches of key individuals in politics, the arts and sciences, the church, and the military.
This book is an essential reference guide to Russia and the post-Soviet world. Contains comprehensive coverage of geography, peoples, history, politics, international relations, economy, literature and the arts.
This one-volume compendium gives users instant access to the people, events, trends, movements, and institutions that have shaped the political and cultural landscape of this expansive and diverse area. The text defines various terms; explores the lives of influential artists, politicians, propagandists, writers, and royal figures; and provides vital information on Russia's past and current geographical boundaries.
The Historical Dictionary of the Russian Federation includes coverage of pivotal movements, events, and persons in the late Soviet Union (1985-1991) and contemporary Russia (1991-present), as well as detailed entries covering the country's expansive geography, unique culture, diverse ethnic groups, and complex political and social environment.
With over 10,000 up-to-date dictionary entries and phonetic transliterations of both Ukrainian and English words. It includes over 10,000 entries with both Ukrainian script and Romanization; a guide to Ukrainian pronunciation; and a section on menu terms.
Colloquial Ukrainian: The Complete Course for Beginners has been carefully developed by an experienced teacher to provide a step-by-step course to Ukrainian as it is written and spoken today. Combining a clear, practical and accessible style with a methodical and thorough treatment of the language, it equips learners with the essential skills needed to communicate confidently and effectively in Ukrainian in a broad range of situations. No prior knowledge of the language is required.
Provides the most complete, accurate and authoritative English language reference grammar of Russian available on the market Includes up-to-date material from a wide range of literary and non-literary sources, including Russian government websites
The book is divided into two parts. Section 1 provides exercises based on essential grammatical structures. Section 2 practices everyday functions such as making introductions, apologizing and expressing needs. A comprehensive answer key at the back of the book enables students to check on their progress.
The book contains clear explanations of the core areas of Russian grammar. Each point is illustrated with examples of contemporary language usage showing you how grammar works in practice while at the same time enhancing your vocabulary and cultural knowledge.
USASK Library uses the American Library Association/Library of Congress approved transliteration tables for the conversion of Cyrillic to Roman letters. Downloadable here: