Ukrainian and Slavic Studies: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Over thirty years in the making, the most comprehensive work in English on Ukraine is now complete: its history, people, geography, economy, and cultural heritage, both in Ukraine and in the diaspora.

Although English-language histories of Ukraine have been published since the 1930s, there has been no one-volume compendium of articles covering Ukrainian history from ancient times to the present, emphasizing the modern period. This dictionary introduces Ukraine to the reader through 700 entries on population, geography, economy, politics, and culture; descriptions of institutions, cultural monuments, political parties, battles and wars; and biographical sketches of key individuals in politics, the arts and sciences, the church, and the military.

This book is an essential reference guide to Russia and the post-Soviet world. Contains comprehensive coverage of geography, peoples, history, politics, international relations, economy, literature and the arts.

This addition to the highly successful Contemporary Cultures series covers the period from period 1953, with the death of Stalin, to the present day.

This one-volume compendium gives users instant access to the people, events, trends, movements, and institutions that have shaped the political and cultural landscape of this expansive and diverse area. The text defines various terms; explores the lives of influential artists, politicians, propagandists, writers, and royal figures; and provides vital information on Russia's past and current geographical boundaries.

The Historical Dictionary of the Russian Federation includes coverage of pivotal movements, events, and persons in the late Soviet Union (1985-1991) and contemporary Russia (1991-present), as well as detailed entries covering the country's expansive geography, unique culture, diverse ethnic groups, and complex political and social environment.