Ukrainian and Slavic Studies: Find Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Articles

The Current Digest of the Russian Press

World News Digest
A database bringing together approximately seven decades of domestic and international news. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale General OneFile
A source for news and full text periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Many articles include images. Updated daily. Search feature encompasses several Gale databases including General Reference Center Gold, Business Index ASAP, Expanded Academic ASAP, and LegalTrac.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
PressReader
Provides today's newspapers from Canada, the U.S., and around the world in print format. Articles can be translated into over a dozen languages. An app is available for mobile devices and tablets. Formerly PressDisplay.
Access Notes: Users who authenticate as a USask Library user on their own device will have access to PressReader on that device anywhere for 6 days, after which they must authenticate again. The Globe and Mail is no longer available to read off-campus.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Russian Central Newspapers: Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers
A collection of 65 Russian central newspapers, including official resources, independent media and partisan publications. Also includes several English language newspapers, including The Moscow Times. This collection is also known as the Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Imperial Russian Newspapers
Newspaper collection chronicling 189 years of Russian history, from the founding of the Russian empire, through the empires expansion during Catherine the Great, the abolishment of serfdom by Alexander II, the tumultuous years of Nicholas II, and everything in between.

The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. The collections core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.

Alternative Press Index & Alternative Press Index Archive
Provides access to bibliographic information about emerging theories of radical social change. Coverage is international, and focuses on socialism and revolution.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

New Pathway-Ukrainian News
Text in Ukrainian and English
Svoboda
Text in Ukrainian
The Ukrainian Weekly
Text in English

Location: Murray Library current journals display shelves, 1^st floor

Doukhobor Caves and Dugout House, Blaine Lake, SK: National Historic Site of Canada