Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

USask Library and Archival Resources: Sexual and Gender Diversity

A guide to the resources available in the University Archives and Special Collections on Gender and Sexual Diversity.

Archival Materials Relating to Health

These are the archival collections in the University Archives and Special Collections that pertain to sexual and gender diversity and health/wellness.  Materials listed here include, but are not limited to, academic and research literature, organizations, and activists.

Here is a brief overview of those collections, with links to their entries in our database. Those without links have not yet been added to our database. Please contact us at ua.sc@usask.ca for more information about these collections.

AIDS Saskatoon fonds - MG 315

Aids Saskatoon was founded in 1986 as a volunteer, non-profit, charitable agency with a mission to work with and provide support to those affected by HIV/AIDS and to educate and inform the public about the prevention of HIV/AIDS.

Avenue Community Centre fonds - MG 535

The Avenue Community Centre for Gender & Sexual Diversity was originally incorporated in 1991 as Gay & Lesbian Health Services, a non-profit agency in Saskatoon working to address health and social issues in the LGBT2Q community. In 2015 its name changed again to OUTSaskatoon.

Gens Hellquist fonds - MG 549

Gens Hellquist was a gay rights activist and played a prominent role in the formation of a cohesive LGBT community in Saskatoon and Saskatchewan. He was also involved in LGBT health activism, being a founding member of Gay and Lesbian Health Services of Saskatoon, and the Canadian Rainbow Health Coalition, as well as serving on the boards of the Canadian AIDS Society and the Saskatchewan AIDS Network.

Peter Millard fonds - MG 47

Peter Millard was a professor of English at the University of Saskatchewan and was involved in human rights, in particular gay rights and sexual discrimination.

Rainbow Health Coalition fonds - MG 521

Yet to be processed. Please contact for more information.

Saskatchewan AIDS Network fonds - MG 294

The Saskatchewan AIDS Network (SAN) was a coalition of community-based organizations dedicated to responding to HIV/AIDS at the provincial level through the development and maintenance of community partnerships. It ran from 1994-2003.

USSU Student Help Centre fonds - MG 142

A Student Union run centre, these files have information on gender-neutral language, Sexually Transmitted Infections, and other issues.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MG 315, AIDS Saskatoon

MG 549, Gens Hellquist fonds, Box 9, I. D. GLMA CD