Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

USask Library and Archival Resources: Sexual and Gender Diversity

A guide to the resources available in the University Archives and Special Collections on Gender and Sexual Diversity.

Archival Materials Relating to Entertainment

These are the archival collections in the University Archives and Special Collections that pertain to sexual and gender diversity and entertainment. Materials listed here include, but are not limited to, images, video, sheet music, performers, and musical groups.

Here is a brief overview of those collections, with links to their entries in our database. Those without links have not yet been added to our database. Please contact us at ua.sc@usask.ca for more information about these collections.

Cross-dressing in Saskatchewan collection - MG 311

This collection consists of programs, posters, photographs, video recordings and artifacts documenting the development of gay drag in Saskatchewan. The materials are primarily from Saskatoon with some from Regina, and most date from 1984 to 2004.

Fiji Robinson fonds - MG 651

Fiji Robinson sang in an a capella group called "The Quinlan Sisters" and another group called "The Fabulous Sirs" with Peter McGehee.

LGBT Movie Poster Collection - MG 540

This collection consists of promotional materials for films with a homosexual, bisexual, or transgender component, in terms of characters or theme. Both documentaries and feature films are included.

Neil Richards fonds - MG 355

Born and educated in Ontario, but based in Saskatchewan since 1971, Neil Richards was an active participant in local, provincial and national gay organizations since the early 1970s. His fonds contains a lot of materials relating to entertainment such as music, theatre, movies, and a particularly large section on cross dressing performance.

Nils Clausson - Guy Michaud collection - MG 620

This collection contains materials related to AIDS Regina and the dramatic productions initiated by them as fundraisers / education. An outreach of that work was the formation of Oscar Wilde & Company. This collection includes scripts, posters, and programmes; and by extension documents the collaboration between Nils Clausson and Guy Michaud, who established the first gay theatre company in Saskatchewan.

Peter McGehee fonds - MG 652

Was an actor, performer, and writer who was born in the States but moved to Saskatoon to join his partner, Doug Wilson. He was a part of the Quinlan Sisters with Fiji Robinson, developed a one-man show, and published novellas and short stories.

MG 355, Richards, 2006-127, Box 92, Sheet Music, Harry Pease

MG 355, Richards, 2006-127, Box 92, Sheet Music, Julian Eltinge