Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

USask Library and Archival Resources: Diefenbaker Archives

This guide explains what the Diefenbaker Archives are and how to access them.

Diefenbaker Archives

John G. Diefenbaker, Prime Minister of Canada, Member of Parliament, and University of Saskatchewan alumnus and chancellor, bequeathed his extensive papers and books to the University of Saskatchewan. The John G. Diefenbaker fonds has been supplemented by more recent acquisitions of papers, books and memorabilia relating to the Diefenbaker legacy. Access to these collections is managed by University Archives & Special Collections.

The Diefenbaker archival collections are off-site, and advanced notice is required in order to retrieve material.  The material must be used in the reading room of the University Archives and Special Collections. We may also be able to assist with some reference enquiries based on digitized material, particularly photographs and audio/visual material.

Contact Us

The University Archives and Special Collections reading room is available for appointments Tuesday-Friday, 10am - 12pm and 1pm - 4pm. Please schedule an appointment - we look forward to seeing you!

Reference service is available by contacting us at ua.sc@usask.ca.

We provide physical and digital copying services subject to copyright, fair dealing, and privacy law.

Our website hosts a variety of digital content such as searchable databases, exhibits, and websites which means you can do a lot of preliminary research without leaving your chair.

Staff is monitoring emails Monday to Friday, 8:30 to 4:30. Depending on whether the material has already been digitized or not, and the scope of the request, delivery time of scans may vary. Please plan accordingly.