Linguistics: Find Books

Search the Library Catalogue

Other Catalogues

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
Primary Resources for research and teaching in the humanities, science and social sciences. Many Resources from emerging regions. Full text or available via Interlibrary loan
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. Access to public domain full text is freely available.
Language Science Press
Language Science Press is a born-digital scholar-led open access publisher in linguistics. We publish 30 monographs and edited volumes a year. All our books are free of charge for authors and for readers (pdf). Printed books are available at competitive prices. Our 29 series are supported by a worldwide network of 400+ editors, 400+ community proofreaders and 1000+ supporters. Over 1000 linguists have published a book or a chapter with Language Science Press.
Access Note: Readers are encouraged to register with Language Science Press. Use the Register link at the top of the homepage to receive the monthly newsletter with information about new books and the latest developments. Registered users can also choose to become a public supporter.
HathiTrust
The HathiTrust collection is comprised of over 17 million volumes in hundreds of languages. The titles are digitized versions of print books and serials from the collections of over 50 academic and research libraries around the world. The collection covers a wide range of disciplines – including Languages and Literature, Social Sciences, Sciences, and Arts – in hundreds of languages (51% of the collection is in English, with large numbers of volumes in French, German, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian) and includes 1.3 million US federal government documents. Access Note: Click on the yellow Log In button and select University of Saskatchewan as your Partner Institution.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Copyright varies for works in HathiTrust. Consult the terms of use on the HathiTrust site for guidance. Images, even in public domain works, may be subject to copyright. Permission should be obtained from the copyright holder prior to the use of images. Include “courtesy of HathiTrust” to your citation for images of works

Internet Archive TextArchive
Over 4.5 million open access (OA) ebooks and etexts. The collections include mostly out-of-copyright titles contributed by American and Canadian Libraries, a selection of titles from the Universal Library, Community Texts titles, Project Gutenberg titles, a Children's Library collection, the Biodiversity Heritage Library, etc. IA can be an invaluable source for hard to find books and texts, especially in digitized page image format.

OCLC FirstSearch (Worldcat)
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. Open Access Content is new feature of the database, allowing for enhanced visibility and discoverability of open content.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Searching the library effectively

Search for Free Online Books

ACCESS NOTE: To limit your search to a specific language (including French, German, Spanish, Russian, Ukrainian, Chinese, Hindi), select from the drop-down list in the Language field. Additional language sources may be found by searching the search box using the language term, eg. Sanskrit.

Recommend a Purchase

Request a Purchase
Online form to suggest items for purchase.