Linguistics: Find Corpus, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Linguistics Resources
The Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Analysis by This handbook compares the main analytic frameworks and methods of contemporary linguistics. It offers a unique overview of linguistic theory, revealing the common concerns of competing approaches. Each chapter considers the main goals of the model; the relation it proposes between lexicon, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, and phonology; the way it defines the interaction between cognition and grammar; what it counts as evidence; and how it explains linguistic change and structure.
The Cambridge Handbook of English Corpus Linguistics by The Cambridge Handbook of English Corpus Linguistics (CHECL) surveys the breadth of corpus-based linguistic research on English, including chapters on collocations, phraseology, grammatical variation, historical change, and the description of registers and dialects.
The Routledge Handbook of Corpus Approaches to Discourse Analysis by The Routledge Handbook of Corpus Approaches to Discourse Analysis highlights the diversity, breadth, and depth of corpus approaches to discourse analysis, compiling new and original research.
The Cambridge Handbook of Cognitive Linguistics by The Handbook introduces fields of study that have become central to cognitive linguistics, such as conceptual mappings and construction grammar. It explains all the main areas of linguistic analysis traditionally expected in a full linguistics framework, and includes fields of study such as language acquisition, sociolinguistics, diachronic studies, and corpus linguistics.
The Routledge Handbook of Corpus Linguistics by The Routledge Handbook of Corpus Linguistics covers corpus linguistics and statistics, digital humanities, translation, phonetics and phonology, second language acquisition, social media and theoretical perspectives. Chapters provide annotated further reading lists and step-by-step guides as well as detailed overviews across a wide range of themes.
A Glossary of Corpus Linguistics by Presents a comprehensive glossary of terms used in corpus linguistics. This alphabetic guide provides definitions and discussion of key terms used in corpus linguistics.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by This work provides concise and informative entries across the whole field of linguistics form phonetics to formal semantics and includes world-wide coverage of languages and language families.
LinguisticsThis dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on the study of language, language families and history, and key figures in linguistics.
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by Over 3,000 entries covers phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics, making it exceptionally comprehensive Incorporates new ideas. It also contains a separate table of abbreviations and table of symbols, along with an updated International Phonetic Alphabet.
Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics by The Dictionary provides an exhaustive survey of the key terminology and languages of more than 30 subdisciplines of linguistics. With its term-based approach and emphasis on clear analysis, it complements perfectly Routledge's established range of reference material in the field of linguistics.
The Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia by The Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia is a single-volume encyclopedia covering all major and subsidiary areas of linguistics and applied linguistics. The entries provide in-depth coverage of the topics and sub-topics of the field.
Linguistics Encyclopedia by The 80 main articles cover 150 sub-areas of the discipline, discussing their development, methodology, terminology, theoretical issues and controversies. The range is wide: syntax, morphology, phonology, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, historical linguistics, writing systems, language acquisition and speech therapy.
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Utilizing a historical and international approach, this valuable two-volume resource makes even the more complex linguistic issues understandable for the non-specialized reader. Containing over 500 alphabetically arranged entries and an expansive glossary by a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Linguistics explores the varied perspectives, figures, and methodologies that make up the field.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences by The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences includes basic entries for those unfamiliar with a given topic and more specific entries for those seeking more specialized knowledge. It incorporates both well-established findings and cutting-edge research and classical approaches and new theoretical innovations.
Encyclopedia of Semiotics by Three hundred entries by leading scholars in a variety of fields--from anthropology and literary theory to linguistics and philosophy--survey the study of signs and symbols in human culture in this new work. The articles cover key concepts, theories, theorists, schools, and issues in communications, cognition, and cultural theory. From introductions to Barthes and Bakhtin to analyses of gossip and myth.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: LinguisticsOxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a pathway to accurate and resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in the database is a guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.
Picture
Corpus word cloud