Linguistics: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Linguistics guide. Use this guide to get oriented to Library resources and services, find information, or get help with your research questions.

As the Liaison Librarian for the Linguistics, I can provide a wide range of library services to students and faculty, including library instruction, research assistance / consultations, selecting print and online resources, promoting information literacy, developing instructional support, etc.

Need help with something else? Please feel welcome to contact me and I will do my best to assist you.

Major levels of linguistic structure from: Thomas, James J. & Cook, Kristin A. , ed. (2005) Illuminating the Path: The Research and Development Agenda for Visual Analytics, National Visualization and Analytics Center, p. 110 ISBN: 0-7695-2323-4. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Major_levels_of_linguistic_structure.svg

Key Resources

Find articles

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Bibliographic abstract and indexing database covering the international literature in theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, and related disciplines in the language sciences. Complete coverage is given for various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Find background information to help shape and define your research

The Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Analysis by Bernd Heine (Editor); Heiko Narrog (Editor)
This handbook compares the main analytic frameworks and methods of contemporary linguistics. It offers a unique overview of linguistic theory, revealing the common concerns of competing approaches. Each chapter considers the main goals of the model; the relation it proposes between lexicon, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, and phonology; the way it defines the interaction between cognition and grammar; what it counts as evidence; and how it explains linguistic change and structure.
The Cambridge Handbook of English Corpus Linguistics by Douglas Biber (Editor); Randi Reppen (Editor)
The Cambridge Handbook of English Corpus Linguistics (CHECL) surveys the breadth of corpus-based linguistic research on English, including chapters on collocations, phraseology, grammatical variation, historical change, and the description of registers and dialects.