Linguistics: Morphology
Books to get you started
New to morphology? Not sure where to even begin? These books can help give you the basics and background on your topic and help you understand terms, concepts and issues in the field.
The Cambridge Handbook of Morphology by The Cambridge Handbook of Morphology describes the diversity of morphological phenomena in the world's languages, surveying the methodologies by which these phenomena are investigated and the theoretical interpretations that have been proposed to explain them. The Handbook provides morphologists with a comprehensive account of the interlocking issues and hypotheses that drive research in morphology; for linguists generally, it presents current thought on the interface of morphology with other grammatical components and on the significance of morphology for understanding language change and the psychology of language; for students of linguistics, it is a guide to the present-day landscape of morphological science and to the advances that have brought it to its current state; and for readers in other fields (psychology, philosophy, computer science, and others).
The Oxford encyclopedia of morphology by This collection includes 115 in-depth articles, encompassing all aspects of morphology, such as morphological units, inflection, derivation, compounding, and formal morphological means.
The Handbook of Morphology by Interest in morphology has undergone rapid growth over the past two decades and the area is now seen as crucially important, both in relation to other aspects of grammar and in relation to other disciplines.
Finding resources effectively
Library resources are tagged with standardized words and phrases (subject headings) that allow you to search for all resources on that subject, rather than trying to figure out all of the keywords that may appear in the title or abstract of an item. Here are some of the subject terms that will capture materials on Morphology.