Skip to main content

EndNote X7: Cite While You Write (CWYW)

Using EndNote's plugin for Microsoft Word and Apache OpenOffice

Basics and Installation

Cite While You Write (CWYW) is a feature of EndNote that allows you to insert citations into your Microsoft Word documents as you write. CWYW will automatically build and manage your bibliography as you compose, as well as manage figures and tables.

To use CWYW, you will need to have Microsoft Word installed on your computer, as well as a copy of EndNote. CWYW is compatible with Word for Mac.

When you install EndNote, CWYW should automatically be installed, adding a toolbar to Word. If you are having problems, check the EndNote Online FAQ or contact EndNote Support.

Cite While You Write is installed on most USask library computers. If you are having trouble finding it, or it doesn't appear to be installed on the computer you are using, it would be best to ask the library staff for help.

Using CWYW

If Cite While You Write is properly installed, you should see this toolbar in Microsoft Word:

When using CWYW, ensure your copy of EndNote is also running on the computer. 

Before getting started, select the citation style (APA, Vancouver, MLA, Chicago, etc.) you wish to use. You may change this at a later time, if desired, and click Update Citations and Bibliography to seamlessly change styles.

You can set EndNote to open anytime you open Word by clicking the Preferences button and selected the Open EndNote when starting Word checkbox. This menu also allows you to enter your EndNote account information.

To Insert a Citation

  1. Ensure you are running Word and EndNote, and you are using the EndNote library with your desired reference(s) in it.
  2. Position the cursor where you want to insert the citation
  3. Click the Insert Citation button in the top left corner
  4. Find the article by typing out of a few words from the title or the author's name. Hint enter to search. If the article does not appear, double-check that it is in your EndNote library and/or try re-syncing your information.
  5. Highlight the article, then click the Insert button on the window.
  6. Your citation will be added where you left your cursor, and the full reference will be added to the end of your document as part of the bibliography.
  7. If desired, you can select the down-arrow next to Insert to customize how the citation is inserted, included just adding the item as a bibliography entry.

Editing Citations

  1. If you need to make a change to an existing citation in the document, do not attempt to delete or type over existing citations.
  2. To properly customize and edit citations, click the Edit & Manage Citation(s) button in the top left corner of the EndNote toolbar.
  3. A window will open that allows you to select your citations and make any necessary changes as required. If you need to edit the reference itself, clicking the Edit Reference button will open your EndNote window to the appropriate reference.
  4. When done, click OK.

Formatting the Bibliography

You can make changes to your bibliography if desired. By default, EndNote will use the selected citation formatting style (APA, Vancouver, etc.) for the bibliography as well.

  1. Open the Bibliography submenu by clicking the small arrow in the lower-right corner of the Bibliography section:

  2. A new window opens with several options for customizing the bibliography. Make your desired changes and click OK.

Removing Field Codes

When submitting a manuscript to a publisher, they will often request you remove an field codes inserted by various reference managers. To do this:

  1. Click the Convert Citations and Bibliography button in the EndNote toolbar
  2. Select Convert to Plain Text
  3. You will be prompted to save the document as a different copy than the original. This is recommended as once you convert field codes, you can no longer manage the citations and bibliography in the document using Cite While You Write.

Writing Help

Student Learning Services: Writing Help - Student Learning Services (SLS) offers writing help through scheduled appointments, drop-in session, and through numerous online tutorials and resources. Consult this link for more information.

Academic Honesty: Library Guide to Writing it Right - Plagiarism is a serious form of academic dishonesty. Learn how to protect yourself and check your writing for problems.

Citation Style Guides - EndNote will do most of the work for you, but you should still be familiar with the basics of the style format you are using. This guide offers information on all major citation styles.