Veterinary Medicine: Find Journal Articles

Key Veterinary Medicine Databases

AGRICOLA
A bibliographic database covering agriculture and life sciences, primarily in English, but with some content in other languages. Includes citations for journal articles, theses, translations, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports. Content is updated monthly.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
CABI: CAB Abstracts & CAB Abstracts Archive
Index and abstract database to agriculture, forestry, and biosciences literature, including: journals, books, conference proceedings, reports, and patents. Includes literature from over 140 countries in more than 40 languages. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
Major bibliographic database for clinical medicine, including: internal medicine, general medicine, primary care, family medicine, and general practice, as well as: veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and pre-clinical sciences.
Access Note: Internet Explorer versions 8, 9, and 10 will not be supported after December 31, 2018.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
PubMed
Access note: PubMed is experiencing periodic disruptions in service due to ongoing US government policy development. If PubMed is not available, please try EuropePMC or OVID MEDLINE as alternate sources.

A free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.

This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Other Relevant Databases

EMBASE: Excerpta Medica & EMBASE Classic
Major biomedical and pharmaceutical database that indexes international veterinary medicine journals. Includes the archive, EMBASE Classic back to 1947. EMBASE Excerpta Medica Database (EMBASE) is a subset of EMBASE.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. .
Clinical Key
Provides access to current medical and surgical content including First Consult, journals, medical and surgical books, medical videos and images.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Google Scholar
You can find the Library's full text holdings in Google Scholar. Just look for the "Get it @ USask Library" link on the right side of the screen, beside each search result.
Access Note: To enable the "Get it @ USask Library" link on your home computer: On the Google Scholar page navigate to "Settings" > "Library links" > Search for University of Saskatchewan > Ensure the checkbox is marked > Save.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Covers current events, culture, business, education, history, language, government etc. In addition to scholarly journals, sources include magazines, newspapers, news services, dissertations, and books.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
VetMed Resource
A comprehensive information resource containing veterinary information derived from CABI: CAB Abstracts to provide the ideal support for veterinary continuing education.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Zoological Record
The world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology, considered the world's unofficial register of animal names. Coverage extends back to 1864. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Keywords v.s. Subject Headings

Keywords and Subject Headings are both useful tools when searching. Some databases don't have subject headings, so identifying keywords and synonyms is an important part of searching.

See the Formulating Your Search Strategy research guide for additional information.

Using Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar
A short video created by the Cooperative Library Instruction Project.