Skip to main content

Microforms at the Murray Library: Major Microform Collections

RG10 & RG15 Collection

Record Group 10 (RG-10) is the designation for the group of records that have been transferred from the Department of Indian Affairs to Library and Archives Canada. RG-10 includes census and land records, correspondence, maps, pay lists, transcripts and other resources covering all aspects of Indian Administration (terminology of the day) for both the headquarters and field offices. The U Sask Library’s holdings are strongest for Saskatchewan and Western Canada (2,500 reels).

Record Group 15 (RG-15) is the designation for the group of records that have been transferred from the Department of the Interior to Library and Archives Canada. RG-15 is comprised of historical records dating from the late 19th through the early 20th centuries and contains Métis Scrip and related material (63 reels).

The University of Saskatchewan Libraries have extensive holdings of these materials in microfilm.

 

Early English Books, Parts I & II

Early English Books, 1475-1640

  • Location: Murray Library-Microforms Collection
  • Call #: Z2002 .U58E12M (microfilm)
  • Print guide, Murray Library-Microforms Collection & Reference Collection, Z2002 .U58E12
  • Cross index, Murray Library-Microforms Collection & Reference Collection, Z2002 .U58E12C

Early English Books, 1641-1700

  • Location: Murray Library-Microforms Collection
  • Call #: Z2002 .U58E128M (microfilm)
  • Cumulative index to units 1-60, Murray Library-Microforms Collection, Z2002 .E125 1990
  • A guide, Murray Library-Microforms Collection & Reference Collection, Z2002 .U58E128
  • Cross Index, Murray Library-Microforms Collection & Reference Collection, Z2002 .U58E128C

Newspapers

Newspapers, including major Canadian cities, on microfilm.

  • Titles are shelved alphabetically
  • Note: Saskatchewan weeklies are held by the Saskatchewan Archives Board, basement of the Murray Building)

CIHM Microfiche Collection

  • This pre-1900 Canadiana microfiche collection is published by the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproduction (CIHM)
  • Records for this collection are integrated into the main University of Saskatchewan Library catalogue
  • The collection is located on the 2nd floor of Murray Library near the microfiche readers