Once you find publications, check what the branch location and call numbers are. Most government publications in the Murray Library are on the second floor and are filed by an unique call number system (CODOC) which supports browsing departmental information. Find out how to read CODOC call numbers.
These publications encompass both traditional printed documents and publications in alternative formats and electronic products. The database includes over 100,000 titles and includes newly published and previously published works, such as annual reports, commissions, regulatory information, policy paper and publications of Statistics Canada.
Use the Search or Advanced Search boxes to find the publications.
The Environmental Studies Research Funds (ESRF) is a research program which sponsors environmental and social studies. It is designed to assist in the decision-making process related to oil and gas exploration and development on Canada's frontier lands. The ESRF is directed by a joint government/industry/public management board.
The Statistics Canada Library collects and provides access to the complete collection of Statistics Canada's documents produced in paper and electronic form.
This collection dates to the founding of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics in 1918. Also included in this collection are documents and publications of the various statistical divisions which merged in 1918 to become the Dominion Bureau of Statistics. These documents include census, foreign trade, industrial production, births/deaths and institutional statistics dating back to 1841.
E-book publications from Canadian research institutes, government agencies and university centres working in the area of health and medical research. The organizations included in this collection are very active publishers of primary research in the field.
Canadian Public Policy Collection is a primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups. This collection is part of the larger Ebrary ebook collection of health titles, university press titles and other such titels. To limit your search to Canadian Public Policy documents, select the ADVANCED option. Search in "collection" for "gibson public policy".
License Information: Access to an individual title is restricted to one or more simultaneous users depending on the number of copies the Library has acquired. Access to the full text of licensed titles is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff and affiliated colleges of the University of Saskatchewan and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright Law.
CODOC Call Numbers
CODOC call numbers are designed to organize government publications on the shelves by keeping all the material published by a single corporate author (i.e. government department or agency) together. Subjects which are similar may be under different call numbers because they come from different corporate authors. For example, a publication on Aboriginal health could be found under Indian Affairs (CA1 IA) or Health Canada (CA1 HE).
The Elements of CODOC Call Numbers
Each separate element follows in this order:
Country (ex: CA for Canada, US for United States, or UN for United Nations)
Level of government (1 = federal, 2 = provincial, 3 = county, 4 = city, etc…)
Province or state (ex: SA for Saskatchewan, AL for Alberta)
Corporate body / Department (ex: IA for Indian Affairs or BS for Statistics Canada)
Organization subdivision / branch of the department (a number)
Year of publication (If it is a single item)
Series number (If it is a series)
Title (A letter and numbers representing the title)
Usually the code used for a department is an acronym of its name (Indian Affairs = IA), but sometimes it does not appear to make sense. For example, CA1 BS represents Statistics Canada. This is because at one time it was known as the Dominion Bureau of Statistics. Since there are various series still being published that originate from that time, the old department code is still used.
How to Read a CODOC Number
CA1 IA :1988R23 would be broken down in the following way:
CA1 identifies this as a Canadian federal document
There is a space between the level of government code and the corporate body code, because there is no province in this case
IA identifies the Department of Indian Affairs
There is another space to show that there is no subdivision in this case
1988 is the year of publication
R23 is taken from the publication's title: "Response of the Government to the Report of the Special Committee on Indian Self-Government"
CA2SADA 108: D16
CA2 identifies it as a Canadian provincial document
SA is the province of Saskatchewan
DA stands for the Department of Agriculture
108 is the Animal Industry Branch within the Saskatchewan Department of Agriculture
There is no year, because it is an ongoing series, so there is a space after the colon
D16 is taken from the title: “Dairy Production Report”
Finding Items in the Stacks
Publications issued by a government department as a whole come before those issued by a branch within that department on the shelves. For example, CA1 FR :1998F51 (issued by the Canadian Forest Services) would be shelved before CA1 FR 101:1973R90 (issued by the Newfoundland Forest Research Centre – represented by the 101 – which is a branch of the Canadian Forest Services).
Works that are published on a continuing basis under the same title (serials) do not have a date of publication in the CODOC number and are shelved before single works that have a date of publication. So all of the issues of CA2SADA 185: A56 (Annual Report of the Saskatchewan Sheep and Wool Marketing Commission) come before CA2SADA 185:1977S36 (A single document put out by the same commission).
TERMIUM Plus® is an English-French-Spanish electronic dictionary consisting of terms, synonyms, acronyms, definitions, phraseology units, examples of usage and observations in a wide variety of fields such as administration, science and informatics. Produced by Public Works and Government Services Canada. Click Launch to begin. Password and ID are not required.
A collection of international polar databases covering research from multiple disciplines on cold regions anywhere, from temperate regions with cold winters to the Himalayas of Tibet.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.