Research Guide for Library Faculty: Chronological List of Grant Funding Deadlines

Note: All external grant applications must be submitted to Research Services 5 working days before the deadline to receive the mandatory institutional approval.

---

JANUARY

UofS Conference Fund (January 1): provides financial assistance for hosting a conference (between $250 and $5000).

Emerald Research Grant Awards: for ALA members, to foster research in the field of business librarianship.

RUSA History Section/Gale Cengage History Research and Innovation Award: for ALA members, provides up to $2500  USD to support research in history librarianship.

RUSA Gail Schlachter Memorial Research Grant (ALA): An annual award of up to $5000 USD to fund research that aims to build better connections between people and library resources and collections.

---

FEBRUARY

CHLA Grants (February 1): provides funds to researchers in the field of health sciences libraries.

SSHRC Connection Grant (February 1): support workshops, colloquiums, conferences, forums, summer institutes or other events or outreach activities geared toward short-term, targeted knowledge mobilization initiatives (between $7,000 and $25,000).  SSHRC will not fund the entire event—applicants must have a minimum of 50% matching funds (either cash or in-kind). 

SSHRC Insight Development Grant (February 2): supports research in its initial stages and enables the development of new research questions, as well as, experimentation with new methods, theoretical approaches and/or ideas (between $7,000 and $75,000 over 1 or 2 years).

BRASS Research Grant Award (ALA): An annual award of up to $5000 USD that supports research in business librarianship.

---

MARCH

Undergraduate Student Research Assistantships (March 31): provides matching awards to faculty researchers interested in hiring undergraduate students as research assistants. Note that funding is not available every year. Available funds are usually announced in January.

SSHRC Partnership Engage Grants (March 15): provides funding to support partnered research activities that involve a partnership between a post-secondary based researcher and a single organization from the public, private, or non-profit sectors ($7,000 to $25,000 over one year).

ALISE grants and awards (March 15): offers funding and awards for both general research projects and specific topics and methodologies, along with awards for professional practice.

SSHRC Explore (typically late March -- varies annually): SSHRC funding that is administered internally; provides funding (up to $7000) to support small-scale research projects.

SSHRC Exchange (typically late March -- varies annually): SSHRC funding that is administered internally; supports activities (up to $3000) that foster knowledge mobilization or community engagement.

---

APRIL

Community Grant Program (April 1):The Community Initiatives Fund is a Saskatchewan organization that supports initiatives benefitting communities or nonprofit organizations in the province. The funds can’t be used for research, but outreach and knowledge mobilization activities that can demonstrate community benefit in Saskatchewan are eligible. Other research facilitators report that researchers in other colleges have had good experiences with the grant and the application process. The organization aims to say yes to as many applications as possible, and the grant currently has about an 85% success rate. Full info, including program guidelines and a sample application, are available on the website. There are two intakes per year, April and October.

Early Career Academic Grants (April 2): are open to early career academics employed by The Association of Commonwealth Universities members enabling them to participate in a conference held in a Commonwealth country other than their own. 

 

---

MAY

SSHRC Connection Grant (May 1): support workshops, colloquiums, conferences, forums, summer institutes or other events or outreach activities geared toward short-term, targeted knowledge mobilization initiatives (between $7,000 and $25,000).  SSHRC will not fund the entire event—applicants must have a minimum of 50% matching funds (either cash or in-kind). 

UofS Publications Fund (May 1): provides funding (up to $5000) to support manuscript preparation, publishing subventions and learned journal subsidies. NOTE: This fund has been paused for 2021, and there is not currently further information abut whether it will be offered in future years.

UofS Conference Fund (May 1): provides financial assistance for hosting a conference (between $250 and $5000).

Altmetric Annual Research Grant (May 1): funds research related to altmetrics and research communications using altmetrics data. The grant focuses on a specific research theme each year. (Up to $2000 USD.)

Research Junction (May 22): Funding is available through Research Junction (a joint initiative between the City of Saskatoon and the University of Saskatchewan) to support collaborative community-based research partnerships between the City and the university. In 2019, $100,000 to support five to seven projects was available. Specially-identified topics (e.g. homelessness in the 2019 competition) may also have funding dedicated to those research areas.

 

---

JUNE

Diversity Research Grant (June 1): for ALA members, funds projects that address gaps in scholarship related to equity, diversity, and inclusion in LIS.

Spencer Foundation Research Grants on Education (Small) (June 1): supports education-related research up to $50,000 USD. Applications from any discipline are welcome. There are three funding cycles per year.

Spencer Foundation Research Grants on Education (Large) (June 16): supports education-related research in amounts from $125,000 USD to $500,000 USD. Applications from any discipline are welcome.

SSHRC Partnership Engage Grants (June 15): provides funding to support partnered research activities that involve a partnership between a post-secondary based researcher and a single organization from the public, private, or non-profit sectors ($7,000 to $25,000 over one year).

---

JULY

Notice of Intent for SSHRC Insight Grant Internal Review (July 15): aims to provide high quality feedback to researchers in both the early and final stages of grant development.

---

AUGUST

SSHRC Connection Grant (August 1): support workshops, colloquiums, conferences, forums, summer institutes or other events or outreach activities geared toward short-term, targeted knowledge mobilization initiatives (between $7,000 and $25,000).  SSHRC will not fund the entire event—applicants must have a minimum of 50% matching funds (either cash or in-kind). 

Research in Librarianship (August 15): supports librarians and LIS student actively conducting research in academic librarianship with the intent to publish the results (2 grants of up to $2000 each).

SSHRC Insight Grant Internal Review (August 15): aims to provide high quality feedback to researchers in both the early and final stages of grant development.

---

SEPTEMBER

UofS Conference Fund (September 1): provides financial assistance for hosting a conference (between $250 and $5000).

SSHRC Partnership Engage Grants (September 15): provides funding to support partnered research activities that involve a partnership between a post-secondary based researcher and a single organization from the public, private, or non-profit sectors ($7,000 to $25,000 over one year).

---

OCTOBER

Spencer Foundation Research Grants on Education (Small) (October 1): supports education-related research up to $50,000 USD. Applications from any discipline are welcome. There are three funding cycles per year.

Community Grant Program (October 1):The Community Initiatives Fund is a Saskatchewan organization that supports initiatives benefitting communities or nonprofit organizations in the province. The funds can’t be used for research, but outreach and knowledge mobilization activities that can demonstrate community benefit in Saskatchewan are eligible. Other research facilitators report that researchers in other colleges have had good experiences with the grant and the application process. The organization aims to say yes to as many applications as possible, and the grant currently has about an 85% success rate. Full info, including program guidelines and a sample application, are available on the website. There are two intakes per year, April and October.

SSHRC Insight Grant (October 15): supports research that builds knowledge and understanding about people, societies, and the world with funding between 2 to 5 years for  $7000–$100,000 proposals (Stream A) and $100,000–$400,000 proposals (Stream B).

---

NOVEMBER

SSHRC Connection Grant (November 1): support workshops, colloquiums, conferences, forums, summer institutes or other events or outreach activities geared toward short-term, targeted knowledge mobilization initiatives (between $7,000 and $25,000).  SSHRC will not fund the entire event—applicants must have a minimum of 50% matching funds (either cash or in-kind).   

Carnegie-Whitney Grant: for ALA members, provides funding for the preparation of reading lists, indexes, or other guides to library resources that will benefit users of all types of libraries.

---

DECEMBER

SSHRC Insight Development Grant Internal Review (December 1): aims to provide high quality feedback to researchers in both the early and final stages of grant development.

SSHRC Partnership Engage Grants (December 15): provides funding to support partnered research activities that involve a partnership between a post-secondary based researcher and a single organization from the public, private, or non-profit sectors ($7,000 to $25,000 over one year).

EBSCO ALA Annual Conference Sponsorship (December 1): offers $1000 to enable a librarian to attend the ALA Annual Conference.

First Step Award /Wiley Professional Development Grant: Funds travel and lodging to attend the ALA Annual Conference for those seeking professional development in the field of continuing resources.

NewsBank/Readex Catharine J. Reynolds Award: for ALA members, offers up to $2000 to support research projects in documents librarianship.

WESS-SEES De Gruyter European Librarianship Study Grant: for ACRL members, supports research (up to €2,500) in librarianship related to European Studies.

---