Religion and Culture: Christianity
Christianity Resources
Christianity and Christianity related Dictionaries
-
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
by
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is a one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics. -
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity
by
Written by a team of 800 scholars and practitioners from around the world, the volume reflects the plurality of Christianity throughout its history. -
Who's Who in Christianity
by
Who's Who in Christianity encompasses the Eastern and Western Churches, and the lives and opinions of personalities who have shaped the past twenty Christian centuries, from Jesus of Galilee to Pope John Paul II, Paul of Tarsus to Mother Teresa. -
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints
by
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints provides concise, readable accounts of the lives of over 1,300 saints, more than any similar guide. In addition to the biographical sketches, information on the cults and artistic associations of particular saints is also given full coverage.
Christian Bible Dictionaries
-
A dictionary of the Bible
by
ISBN: 019860890XAs well as providing concise information about important places and personalities, this accessible dictionary clearly explains the themes and doctrines of the Bible. With entries ranging from earthquakes and mice to feminism and the Dead Sea Scrolls, it is a lively and absorbing reference work for students and all readers of the Bible. -
Harper's Bible Dictionary
by
More than 3,500 articles, written by members of the Society of Biblical Literature, present essential information on every aspect of the Old Testament, Apocrypha, and New Testament and are supplemented by photographs, maps, tables, and charts. -
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible
by
The Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible gathers nearly 5,000 alphabetically ordered articles that thoroughly yet clearly explain all the books, persons, places, and significant terms found in the Bible.
-
Brill encyclopedia of early Christianity online
by
The Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity (BEEC) focuses on the history of early Christianity, covering texts, authors, and ideas. The BEEC aims both to provide a critical review of the methods used in Early Christian Studies and also to update the history of scholarship. The BEEC addresses a range of traditions, including iconographic, martyrological, ecclesiastical, and Christological traditions, as well as cultic phenomena, such as the veneration of saints. The history of the transmission of texts and the attention to recent scholarship will play an important role. The BEEC focuses on early Christianity from a historical perspective in order to uncover the lasting legacy of the authors and texts until the present day. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE.
-
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology
by
The Encyclopedia of Christian Theology, is written by 250 scholars from fifteen different countries. Alphabetically arranged entries provide the reader a critical overview of the main theological questions and related topics, including concepts, events, councils, theologians, philosophers, movements, and more. -
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Online reference work covering social and intellectual history of early modern Europe, including "the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature."
-
The Bible in EnglishIn addition to twelve complete versions of the Bible, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works, and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations. The complete English text of each edition is included, as well as all prefatory matter and notes.
Searching the library effectively
Materials on Christianity can be found in the USask Library using these subject headings:
-
Christianity [name other country]to be more specific of the country that you are looking at, add the name of the other religion. For example: Christianity Canada
