The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions is an exceptionally wide-ranging A-Z reference guide to the history, beliefs, dogmas, practices, individuals, customs, and artefacts of the worlds religions past and present. With over 8,200 entries from eighty multi-faith international contributors this really is the definitive one-volume work on all the worlds religions.
A religious dictionary which explores the impact of leading men and women, both ancient and modern, on religion. With coverage of prophets, teachers, missionaries, mystics, holy men, saints, theologians and political leaders. Entries include Moses, Plato and Ghandi.
Includes well-known groups and world religions, such as Jehovah's Witnesses, Mormons, Islam, and Baha'i* Groups with a significant North American influence, including Santeria, Rastafarians, Haitian Voodo, white supremacy groups, Wicca, and Satanism. You'll also find group histories, numerous illustrations, charts, current statistics, websites, bibliographies, and other useful information.
The Dictionary of Religion addresses religion as an element of daily life and public discourse. The Brill Dictionary of Religion helps map out and define the networks and connections created by various religions in contemporary societies, and provides models for understanding these complex phenomena.
Drawn on all the great books of world religions - the Bible, the Qur'an, Zoroastrian Gathas, Hindu Vedas, Bhagavad Gita, Jewish Mishnah, Sikh Adi Granth and Chinese Tao Te Ching - in this collection of over 3000 quotations.
This comprehensive volume focuses on the world's religions and the changes they have undergone as they become more global and diverse in form. It explores the religions of the world not only in the regions with which they have been historically associated, but also looks ;at the new cultural and religious contexts in which they are developing.
More than 200 international experts contributed the 1,200+ entries covering each group's origin, history, organization, ecumenical contacts, and present status. Other entries focus on individual countries, surveying the current state of religious practice, supported by statistical data from leading religious statisticians David B. Barrett and Todd M. Johnson.
Note: Choose "World Religions Reference Library" from the list of options under the "Religion" heading. "World Religions Reference Library" is a reference work directed at high school students "covering the history, traditions and world views of dominant and less prominent religions and their sects and offshoots... [including]... Christianity, Islam, Sikhism, Hinduism, Buddhism and Judaism. Less traditional and practiced religions are also included such as Shinto and Daoism."
License Information: Selected titles were acquired by the Saskatchewan Multitype Library Database Licensing Project (MDLP). MDLP supported titles are restricted to 6 simultaneous users (shared across Saskatchewan member libraries). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users for titles acquired by the Library. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.