A non-profit repository of digital images and associated catalog data from contributing museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
There are 3 levels of access to ARTstor: Unregistered (Walk-in) users: No registration is required. Able to search, browse, and analyze images and data. Registered users: ARTstor allows registered users to, save Image Groups, add personal notes to images, and download the Offline Image Viewer. You must register with an email address to access these services. Once registered, you can log in to your account to access these services. Instructor-Level users This is currently restricted to faculty and staff.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network for its Digital Content Infrastructure Project. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law. See the terms and conditions of use at https://www.artstor.org/our-organization/o-html/terms-of-use.shtml.
Open access database with an English interface, covering all the works exhibited in the Louvre museum - some 30,000 items (in 2013). Includes explanatory texts in both French and English. Art works include: Near Eastern Antiquities, Islamic Art, Egyptian Antiquities, Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities, Decorative Arts, Sculptures, Paintings, and Prints and Drawing.
An open access database including high-resolution images of selected artworks from over 300 art museums, galleries, and archives throughout the world, including Canada. It is compiled by the Google Cultural Institute. It also includes image details, available virtual museum tours, as well as user-selected image galleries. Access Google Open Gallery for free apps for artists, museums, archives and galleries for uploading images, videos and audio online and creating online collections, exhibitions and tours.
Access Note: You must self-register for a (free) Google account to access the additional functionality of the Art Project, including creating your own galleries. The account login works across other Google apps.