Religion and Culture: Buddhism
Buddhism Resources
-
A Dictionary of Buddhism
by
Over 2,000 broad-ranging entries cover beliefs, doctrines, major teachers and scholars, place names, and artefacts, in a clear andconcise style. The text is illustrated with line drawings of religious structures, iconographic forms and gestures, and ritual objects. Appendices include a chronology and a guide to canonical scriptures as well as a pronunciation guide for difficult names and terms. -
Buddhist Text Translation Society's Buddhism A to Z
by
Dharma, Sangha, Arhat, karma, Bodhisattva - these and many other Buddhist technical terms have become vaguely familiar to Western readers. But what do they really mean in Buddhism? Just what are the Four Noble Truths, the Five Skandhas, the Six Paramitas, and the Eight Winds? Buddhism A-Z has the answers. In this volume, full definitions of hundreds of the terms, names, lists, and concepts most frequently encountered in reading Buddhist scriptures are listed in dictionary format and explained in plain English. -
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
by
With more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words, this is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. It is also the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. -
Historical Dictionary of Buddhism
by
The Historical Dictionary of Buddhism covers and clarifies Buddhist concepts, significant figures, movements, schools, places, activities, and periods.
-
Brill's encyclopedia of Buddhism online
Illustrated with maps and photographs, and supplemented with extensive online resources, this thematic encyclopedia presents the latest research on the main aspects of the Buddhist traditions in original essays, all written by the world's foremost scholars. Presents a balanced and even-handed view of the Buddhist traditions across Asia, offering the most reliable up-to-date accounts of well-known issues. At the same time it fills many gaps in heretofore-neglected areas. Contributions emphasize time and again that Buddhism is simultaneously constituted by a plurality of regional traditions, as well as a far-reaching phenomenon spanning almost all of Asia, and, more recently, far beyond. -
The Oxford handbook of Buddhist practice
by
This volume will serve as a corrective to the common misconception that Buddhist practice is limited to seated meditation and that ritualized activities are not an integral dimension of authoritative Buddhist practice. Essays in this handbook explore the transformational aims of practices that require practitioners to move, gesture, and emote in prescribed ways, including the ways that scholars' own embodied practices are integral to their research methodology. -
International Encyclopaedia of Buddhism
by
Spanning 75 volumes, this massive encyclopedia set covers all aspects of Buddhism as it is practiced around the world. -
The Oxford Handbook of American Buddhism
by
The Oxford Handbook of American Buddhism guides readers through the rich terrain of American Buddhism, illuminating the diversity of Buddhist communities and identities, exploring the innovations that have emerged from the cross-fertilization of Buddhism and American culture, and extending the theoretical and methodological boundaries that have shaped the study of American Buddhism. The Handbook is organized into four parts: Foundations, Traditions, Practices, and Frames. -
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
by
Reflects the current state of scholarship in Buddhist Studies, its entries being written by specialists in many areas, presenting an accurate overview of Buddhist history, thought and practices, most entries having cross-referencing to others and bibliographical references. Contain around 1000 pages and 500,000 words, totaling around 1200 entries. -
International encyclopaedia of Buddhism
by
Covers the social and cultural development in Buddhism.
The words of the Buddha were carried down through oral tradition after his death and later complied collections called suttas (Pali) or sutras (Sanskrit). Knowing the Sanskrit and/or Pali name of the sutras will make it easier to find in the library.
Pali Canon
Some Mahayana Sūtras
-
The Heart of Buddhist Wisdom
by
This is a translation of the Heart Sutra, a text which contains elements indigenous to early Buddhism, but which also represents a new mystical vision."
-
The Lankavatara Sutra
by
Buddhist canonical work. -
The Vimalakirti Sutra
by
One of the most popular Asian classics for roughly two thousand years, the Vimalakirti Sutra stands out among the sacred texts of Mahayana Buddhism for its conciseness, its vivid and humorous episodes, its dramatic narratives, and its eloquent exposition of the key doctrine of emptiness or nondualism. Unlike most sutras, its central figure is not a Buddha but a wealthy townsman, who, in his mastery of doctrine and religious practice, epitomizes the ideal lay believer. For this reason, the sutra has held particular significance for men and women of the laity in Buddhist countries of Asia, assuring them that they can reach levels of spiritual attainment fully comparable to those accessible to monks and nuns of the monastic order.
Searching the library effectively
Materials on Buddhism can be found in the USask Library using these subject headings:
-
Buddhism Relationsto be more specific of the relationship that you are looking at, add the name of the other religion. For example: Buddhism Relations Islam
