Religion and Culture: Judaism

Judaism Resources

A Popular Dictionary of Judaism by Lavinia Cohn-Sherbok; Dan Cohn-Sherbok
This concise dictionary of Judaism contains over a thousand entries describing all the key aspects of religion, culture and history in the Jewish faith.
The Routledge Dictionary of Judaism by Alan Avery-Peck; Jacob Neusner
Compiled by two internationally renowned experts, and with over 600 wide-ranging and informative entries, The Routledge Dictionary of Judaism provides the reader with an invaluable reference aid to all areas of the religion.
Historical Dictionary of Judaism by Norman Solomon; Jon Woronoff (Editor)
The Historical Dictionary of Judaism doesn't just present "religious" beliefs in a traditional sense, but investigates the complex intermingling of religion, devotion, lifestyle and culture, as it is found in diverse Jewish populations around the world.
The Penguin dictionary of Judaism by Nicholas De Lange
The book provides an A to Z format and covers everything from Jewish traditions and biographical entries on key historical figures to theology, religious law and practice, and the history of Jewish thought.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by Adele Berlin (Editor-In-Chief); Maxine Grossman (Editor-In-Chief)
The Dictionary covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist, and post-denominational Judaism. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies, enlighten readers about the major figures, folklore, and events in the history of Judaism throughout the world.

The Encyclopedia of Judaism by Jacob Neusner (Editor); Alan J. Avery-Peck (Editor); William Scott Green (Editor); Alan Green (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Judaism provides a full and reliable account of Judaism, the religion, its diverse history, literature, beliefs, practices, observances, and its place in the context of society and culture from ancient Israelite times to our own day. By reason of its antiquity, influence on other world religions, power to persuade the faithful of its truth, and contemporary vitality, Judaism demands sustained attention.
Encyclopedia Judaica by Fred Skolnik; Michael Berenbaum
The Encyclopaedia Judaica includes are more than 21, 000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. ONLINE version linked below.

Encyclopaedia Judaica
A reference work providing an overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana", and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Torah - Pentateuch

The living Torah = The five books of Moses and the Haftarot : a new translation based on traditional Jewish sources, with notes, introduction, maps, tables, charts, bibliography, and index by Aryeh Kaplan
v. 1. Genesis.-- v. 2. Exodus.-- v. 3. Leviticus.-- v. 4. Numbers.-- v. 5. Deuteronomy. Bibliography. Index

Torah
Full text of the Torah, including the Navi and Ketuvim.

Tanakh (Hebrew Bible)

JPS TANAKH: the Holy Scriptures (blue) by Inc. Jewish Publication Society, Inc. (Editor)
The JPS TANAKH is an entirely original translation of the Holy Scriptures into contemporary English, based on the Masoretic (the traditional Hebrew) text. It is the culmination of three decades of collaboration by academic scholars and rabbis, representing the three largest branches of organized Judaism in the United States.
Tanakh = The Holy Scriptures ; Hebrew and English : authorized version by Society for Distributing Hebrew Scriptures