The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is a one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.
Who's Who in Christianity encompasses the Eastern and Western Churches, and the lives and opinions of personalities who have shaped the past twenty Christian centuries, from Jesus of Galilee to Pope John Paul II, Paul of Tarsus to Mother Teresa.
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints provides concise, readable accounts of the lives of over 1,300 saints, more than any similar guide. In addition to the biographical sketches, information on the cults and artistic associations of particular saints is also given full coverage.
As well as providing concise information about important places and personalities, this accessible dictionary clearly explains the themes and doctrines of the Bible. With entries ranging from earthquakes and mice to feminism and the Dead Sea Scrolls, it is a lively and absorbing reference work for students and all readers of the Bible.
More than 3,500 articles, written by members of the Society of Biblical Literature, present essential information on every aspect of the Old Testament, Apocrypha, and New Testament and are supplemented by photographs, maps, tables, and charts.
The Encyclopedia of Christian Theology, is written by 250 scholars from fifteen different countries. Alphabetically arranged entries provide the reader a critical overview of the main theological questions and related topics, including concepts, events, councils, theologians, philosophers, movements, and more.
E-book version. Online reference work covering social and intellectual history of early modern Europe, including "the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature."
"Contains twenty versions of the Bible. In addition to the twelve complete Bibles, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations".
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.