Religion and Culture: Sikhism
Sikhism Resources
Historical Dictionary of Sikhism by This dictionary provides a thorough survey of Sikhism and the teachings of Guru. It includes brief articles on its doctrinal differences with Hinduism, and discusses rituals & ceremonies, holy places, various sects, important people and major events.
A dictionary of Sikh studies by With over 350 entries, this dictionary provides accessible definitions of the terms that the growing number of students of Sikhism will encounter. It covers beliefs, practices, festivals, sacred sites, and principal languages, as well as the social and religious processes through which Sikhism has evolved.
- Brill's Encyclopedia of Sikhism OnlineBrill’s Encyclopedia of Sikhism aims to make available in-depth critical scholarship on all the main aspects of the Sikh traditions in a number of original essays written by the world’s foremost scholars on Sikhs and Sikh traditions.
Encyclopaedia of Sikh heritage by V. 1. Historical development of Sikhism : religion to politics -- v. 2. Conception and transformation of Sikh politics -- v. 3. Social philosophy and social transformation of Sikhs --v. 4. Analytical study of Sikh philosophy -- v. 5. Sikh religious vision
Teachings of the Sikh Gurus by Recognized masterpieces of Indian literature, the Guru Granth Sahib and the Dasam Granth are fundamental to the Sikh religion, not only in the physical layout of temples and in ceremonies of worship, but as infallible reference texts offering counsel and instruction. Teachings of the Sikh Gurus presents a brand new selection of key passages from these sacred scriptures, translated into modern English by leading experts, Christopher Shackle and Arvind-pal Singh Mandair. Including six longer compositions and many shorter hymns thematically organised by topics such as Time and Impermanence, Self and Mind, Authority, and Ethics, the book's accessible and carefully chosen extracts distil the essence of Sikhism's remarkable textual and intellectual legacy, depicting how its message of universal tolerance suits the contemporary world.
The Goindval Pothis by This volume explores the earliest available version of the Sikh canon. The book contains the first critical description and partial edition of the Goindval Pothis, a set of proto-scriptural manuscripts prepared in the 1570s. The manuscripts also contain a number of hymns by non-Sikh saints, some of them not found elsewhere.
Textual Sources for the Study of Sikhism by This work presents the principal sources of the Sikh religion, the Khalsa tradition and the beliefs of breakaway sects like the Nirankaris and Namdharis.
Searching the library effectively
Materials on Sikhism can be found in the USask Library using some of these subject headings:
Picture
Sikh symbol - Khanda multicoloured Red, yellow and blue by Hari Singh CC by 2.0