Government Information - Canada: Primary and Official Sources

Debates, Records, and Proceedings - Electronic

Canada Parliamentary Sessions - List of sessions and sitting days of the House of Commons and Senate from 1867 to the present.

LEGISinfo
Use for finding information on legislation currently before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about individual bills, such as: the text of the bill at various stages; government press releases and backgrounders (for government bills); legislative summaries; important speeches at second reading; votes; links to committee proceedings and coming into force data. Covers the 35th Parliament, 1st Session (1994) to the present.
Parliament of Canada. Chamber Business
Hansard (Debates) and Journals of the House of Commons and Senate of Canada from the 35th Parliament, 1st Session (January 17, 1994) to the present.
more...less...
Print holdings from 1867 to the present held in the Murray Library. See the following call numbers:

* J103 K33 for the Journals of the House of Commons,
* J103 J3 for the Journals of the Senate,
* J103 K2 for the House of Commons Debates (Hansard)
* J103 J2 for the Senate Debates (Hansard)
Reconstituted Debates: The Early Debates of Parliament
Official reporting of the debates of Canada’s Parliament began in 1871 in the Senate and in 1875 in the House of Commons. Coverage: Senate from 1867 to 1870, House of Commons 1867 to 1874.
more...less...
The reconstituted debates, also know as the Scrapbook Debates, pre-date the official records of House and Senate proceedings and were compiled largely from newspaper clippings and other sources that Library of Parliament workers collected in scrapbooks.
Debates of the House of Commons (Reconstituted, 1867-1870)
Early Canadian version.
more...less...
Informally known as the "Reconstituted Debates".
Debates of the Senate (Reconstituted, 1867-1871)
Early Canadian version.
Privy Council Office Information Resources
Includes: Cabinet, Commissions of Inquiry, Former Prime Ministers Archive, Guide to Canadian Ministries Since Confederation, and Orders in Council.
Canada Parliament -records digitized by the Internet Archive
Records created by the Parliament of Canada, incluidng Sessional papers, census, annual reports, journals, and debates.

Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources: searchable database of digitized Senate and Commons journals, debates and committee documents.

Debates, Records and Proceedings - Print

House of Commons debates, official report (Hansard). 1875 to the present.
Call Number: CA1 X 1: D23 1867- 1st Parl. 1st Sess. -- Currently received (Non-circulating)

Debates of the Senate 1880 to the present.
Call Number: CA1 Y 1: D32 1880- 4th Parl. 3rd Sess. -- Currently received (Non-circulating)(For 1870-1871 see CA1 X 1: D23)

Reconstituted Debates of the House of Commons and Senate of Canada 1868-1871
Call Numbers J103 K18 and J103 J18.

Sessional Papers of the Parliament of the Dominion of Canada. 1867-1925
Call Number: CA1 YS : S26 1867-1925 v.1 -- v.61 no.5 Not currently received (Non-circulating)

Journals of the House of Commons of Canada. 1868 to the present
Call Number: CA1 X 2: J53 1867 -- Currently received

Journals of the Senate of Canada. 1868 to the present
Call Number: CA1 Y 2: J79 1867/68 -- Currently received

Primary and Official Sources - Electronic

Canada. Supreme Court of Canada
Canada's final court of appeal is the last judicial resort for all litigants, whether individuals or governments. Its jurisdiction embraces both the civil law of the province of Quebec and the common law of the other provinces and territories.
Canadian Intergovernmental Conference Secretariat
Created by the First Ministers of Canada in May 1973. It is an agency of both the federal and provincial governments that provides administrative services for the planning and conduct of First Ministers, Ministers and Deputy Ministers federal-provincial-territorial and provincial-territorial conferences held throughout Canada.

The multilateral intergovernmental conference is a critical component of Canadian federalism. It is a key element for consultation, coordination,
negotiation and agreement among federal, provincial and territorial governments.