Drama : Drama 362
Poetry databases and websites
- Columbia Granger's World of PoetryIncludes 250,000 poems in full-text, mainly in English, but also Spanish, French, and German, etc. Classical and contemporary poetry.
- Gale LiteratureProvides full text of poems. Use the Works Search on the right side of the screen and select Poem in the Type of Work box. Or try the Person Search to use limiters like nationality, gender, etc.
- Proquest One LiteratureIn the Document Type box select poem, and add keywords in the search boxes above.
Poetry Foundation An independent literary organization committed to a "vigorous presence for poetry" in American culture
Best Poems | The Famous Poems Encyclopedia Online Collection of historic and contemporary poems. Double check punctuation on any famous poems found on this site.
Poetry at Sangam An online magazine from India of poems either written or translated into English.
Poetry.com Online collection of poems by famous and amateur poets edited by professional and volunteer editors.
Canadian Poetry Online | University of Toronto Libraries | Contemporary Canadian Poets Online database of Canadian poets with sample works from the University of Toronto Libraries
Browsing for poetry
Poetry books in print are in the north wing of the Murray Library. The books are organized by language, nationality, author etc. so you won't find all of the poetry books in the same place. Some call number areas to try if you'd like to browse are PR 1170-1228 (General poetry collections), PS 580-619 (American), PS 9299 (Canadian).
You may also 'browse' in the library catalogue. Start with keywords that describe what you are looking for (such as Indigenous Canada poems). When you find something suitable, either text the record to yourself or copy down the title, call number, and location of the book. Have a look at the Subject headings for that item in the catalogue and click on them to find related material.
Speeches
- Library CatalogueChange the type of search from "word" to "subject". Paste in this Subject heading: Speeches addresses etc. OR, do an advanced search with the same Subject heading but add a keyword such as women or Canada etc. in the second search line.
- Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the PresentA collection of "monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present."
- North American Indian Thought and CultureA collection of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. With over 119,000 pages of content, including biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs.
- Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial EncountersPrimary source documents from the 17th century to the mid-20th century, covering the regions and colonial frontiers of North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Includes correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books, and pamphlets.
- Historical SpeechesA collection of websites that contain transcripts and sometimes videos of a wide range of speeches.
Ask Us! Live chat help
Get research help
Room 122.16
Murray Library
3 Campus Drive
Saskatoon, SK S7N 5A4