Music: Find Articles

Best Bets

Music Index
A comprehensive index of international music periodicals which covers historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data for all styles and genres of music.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature
A comprehensive bibliographic index and abstracts database, covering publications on music from all over the world. It provides broad yet detailed coverage on music topics. Coverage spans 1967 to the present, and is updated monthly.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
JSTOR
Jstor contains over 70 music journals and over 50 ebooks on musical topics. Music content on JSTOR is strong in musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, and music education. Key titles include Musical Times, Music Educators, Music & Letters, and Popular Music, among many others from leading publishers (American Musicological Society, Music Library Association, and the Society for Music Theory).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
An international annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture, found in music and culture periodicals published in seventeen countries between 1766 and 1962. Content is selected by international specialists, who provide detailed indexing and analysis.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale OneFile CPI.Q
A full text database of articles from Canadian and International journals, magazines and reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus. Includes The Globe and Mail, Maclean's, Canadian News Facts, and reference materials, including the Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers. The interface is bilingual (English and French).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale Academic OneFile Select (GAOFS)
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this full text database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Project MUSE
Access to the full text of high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.The complete content of each and every journal issue is online, including all charts, graphics and images. There are no embargoes on journal content in MUSE the MUSE issue typically appears online before the print version is mailed.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

The Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI)
The Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. Full texts of articles are not available from this site, but you can inquire about them in your local library. The CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed. The CMPI database focusses on articles and news items touching on various aspects of music in Canada. In addition, since 1999, significant articles published in Canadian periodicals about international music and musicians have been added to the index.

Google Scholar

Find Full Text Via Google Scholar

Set your Google Scholar settings to show full-text USask links.

You can then copy your article title into Google Scholar to see if we have free full-text access to that article through one of the library's database subscriptions.

Using Google Scholar
This document outlines how best to use Google Scholar to access online library articles.